PDA

View Full Version : Public Hub API



jeremyhardin
01-12-2006, 11:37 AM
so i'm looking into some inter-program communication, and i stumble upon something. this is in every Lightwave 8 feature list...
Public Hub API so that third party applications can communicate directly with Layout and Modeler

but the actual changes in the sdk docs for lw8 don't have anything about it. is it there and just not documented? or did it never show up?


8 Changes

March 19th, 2004

This is a list of the changes in the LightWave 8 release that affect the SDK.

lwcomring.h

* A new header file containing the definitions to allow plug-ins to use a standard, event-driven means of intercommunication called the Communication Ring.

lwanimuv.h

* This is the header for the new AnimUV Layout plug-in class.

lwdopetrack.h

* This is the header for the Dopetrack Proxy global that allows Layout Tool-class plug-ins to use the new Layout Dopetrack as their interface.

lwsceneeditor.h

* This is the header for the SceneEditor global that allows plug-ins to interact with the new Layout Scene Editor system.

Miscellaneous

* The AnimUV project has been added to the SDK samples that demonstrates animation of texture UV coordinates.
* The Communication Ring mechanism is demonstrated by the ComRing sample SDK project, which include an LScript and C-code plug-in that intercommunicate.
* The Custom Polygon plug-in class has an example SDK project
* A new changeEvent() function has been added to the lwimage.h header to allow plug-ins to be notified of editing changes to loaded images.
* motionBlur() and fieldRendering() functions have been added for the Camera Info global.
* The Scene Info global now provides information about antialiasing, enhancedAA, adapativeSampling, adaptiveThreshold and soft filter settings.

jeremyhardin
01-12-2006, 12:19 PM
this is in reference to 7.5 i think, but again, any info is helpful. i searched the entire current sdk, to no avail.


From: Stuart Ferguson <[email protected]>
Date: Wed Jul 10, 2002 11:06 am
Subject: Re: [LW-P] Linking software through LWHub [email protected]
Send Email Send Email

At 08:53 AM 7/8/2002 +0000, anttij77 wrote:
>Can i synchronize my own 3D painting app to Lightwave Layout &
>modeler through the HUB? Like layout & modeler do? If so... Then how
>would i do it? It would be nice to have a sort-of "integrated" 3D
>paint app for LW, wouldn't it?

Yes it would. One of the original goals for 7.5 had been to publish the
hub's protocol so that third-party clients could use it. Unfortunately we
discovered that the Mac version was hard-wired to allow only Layout and
Modeler to work together, and there was no obvious way to extend
it. Although I think the PC version of the protocol allows additional
clients, the problems on the Mac pretty much killed the idea of a public hub.

If you were willing to deal with the limitations (either by writing code
only for the PC or by some kind of crazy hack on the Mac) it's probably
possible to tie into the hub. The concept is very simple. There is a
shared list of open files, and as each client application edits the file it
gets a lock on it. When a different application gets the focus then the
edited files are written to a temp directory and the locks are released,
and other client apps can then update their internal state by reading the
changed files. Image files are not part of the list, but there's probably
a way of editing model files to force images to update.

Unfortunately the engineer who originally created the hub left NewTek
earlier this year. Understanding the protocol would require tracking her
down or convincing Arnie to reconstruct it from the hub code and related
documents.

- Stuart

ercaxus
01-12-2006, 03:56 PM
I am pretty sure someone had a plugin or if it wasn't a plugin at least some source files for writing plugins that can interact with hub. I just don't remember whose plugin site it was, I tried googling but couldn't find anyhing. Good luck :D

jeremyhardin
01-12-2006, 03:59 PM
haha. well thanks for trying. :D newtek could also comment here as to where in the docs this new feature is ;)

Jarno
01-12-2006, 10:53 PM
As far as I know that feature has never made it into release.

---JvdL---

jeremyhardin
01-12-2006, 10:58 PM
well that's a shame. and you guys would know too. ****e.

ercaxus
01-13-2006, 02:37 AM
since jarno is here I want to ask something:
Will new camera tools in lw9 allow us to do ortogramajigk rendering? hahaha :neener:
kidding :)

ercaxus
01-13-2006, 03:31 AM
ok this guy apparently knows how to work through (probably)hub.
http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1968

tischbein3
01-13-2006, 06:43 AM
(probably)hub.

doubt its hub. as far as I looked at it, its done by using a plugin to communicate with modeler. (but thanks for the link)

As far as I could renember it was announced to be included in 8.5.

Lets cross our fingers the api will be included in the 9 release.

jeremyhardin
01-13-2006, 07:58 AM
doubt its hub. as far as I looked at it, its done by using a plugin to communicate with modeler. (but thanks for the link)

As far as I could renember it was announced to be included in 8.5.

Lets cross our fingers the api will be included in the 9 release.
all i'm crossing my fingers for is...

a. word from newtek as to what's going on with this 'feature'

b. it to be documented if/when it is implemented.

c'mon newtek. someone who knows. why is this listed on every 8 feature list and not in the actual software?

operation
01-22-2006, 06:23 AM
I don't know if it's a good idea to use the HUB ... I think ( personnal feeleing ;)) ..that the hub will desappear.

In case that it could help, I have seen that the HUB is saving file on the hard desk to communicate:

c:\documents and setitings\admin\application .... I don't remember exactly, but make a "search file " with *.lwo or *.lws... you will find a HUb folder with current "used file". may be you can tweak them, save them back and make an "refresh" command in Modeler or Layout.

The simplest way to see if it's work:

delete all file in Hub folder.
create an object, save it,send it to the Layout.

use a third part program to change UV or geometry. Save and go to the Layout or modeler to see if it was updated ? or use "refresh command".



I asked Newtek to have more infos about the hub. if I get any news I will share them.

cheers.

ps: excuse me I am a newbie in Lscript. may be it's unusefull

RedBull
01-22-2006, 10:06 PM
There obviously is a link for it, as Aura/Mirage use a HubLink for UV's.

So it's definately possible, and as it was mentioned along with OpenEXR plugin
that never eventuated, it would be at least nice to have an idea on why it was abandon publically.


It would be nice to add a link to Photoshop or Blender... :)

slow67
01-24-2006, 01:22 AM
There obviously is a link for it, as Aura/Mirage use a HubLink for UV's.

Also Messiah has/had? some sort of link to layout.