PDA

View Full Version : "new Program Blues" - HELP



jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 06:10 PM
OK - I even tried to restore the configs. nothing. still missing menu items.

"" Alt F11, do a scan directory; hit Alt F10, check you're in default; hit Alt F9, make sure you're in default. ""

I scanned the LW8 folder hoping for somthing -but it gave me one of these:

-- "CKPT : Checkpoint block nesting overflow -- FATAL" --

maybe I am not doing this right - maybe I need to just reinstall everything. is reinstalling Lightwave difficult on a mac? I know my machine can handle this program.

But right now I just have the "new program blues"
Can someone help me out?

Thanks
David S.

Jupiter-Cola

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 06:19 PM
what version of LW were you using before? the interface has changed considerably since 7.5.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 06:37 PM
the recent version - just downloaded 8.5

I am missing the primitives palate, text palate, points, polygons and curves. - that is under CREATE. which I dont have. I have modify on the top - but I dont have Multiply, Construct, Detail, Map, all that stuff.

Basically - I can't do anything. It isnt the learners - or educational edition.
it is LightWave 3D 8.5 (Mac32).

thanks for the prompt reply.
Am looking forward to many challenges ahead - I'm sure.

David S.

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 06:41 PM
so you were using 8.3 before you upgraded?

you could try:

1. repairing permissions
2. deleting the configs altogether (this will cause Lightwave to generate default ones)
3. re-adding your plugins (after deleting the configs)
4. going into your menu options and setting them to the default 8.5 preset

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 06:50 PM
Actually - I havn't run on 8.3. I tried the first - 8.0 I still had this problem. All of the updates had this problem. I thought that updating through the update would salve this problem.

How do I repair permissions, delete configurations?

going into your menu options and setting them to the default 8.5 preset
-how do I do this?

Do I need to re-install?

Sorry for asking so many questions. I thought that this was going to be a fail-proof install-and-play - but boy - was I wrong. Thanks for your patience - I'm just trying to get this thing up and running.

David S.
Jupiter-Cola

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 06:58 PM
i seriously doubt a re-install is necessary. and i doubt it would work, too.

can you post a screenshot of your interface?

repairing permissions:

in Finder, go to Macintosh HD:Applications:Utilities:Disk Utility
select your hard drive in the list.
click repair permissions.
(sometimes I do verify and repair, just to be a little redundant and overly safe. probably unnecessary to do both)

delete config files:

in finder, go to Macintosh HD:Users:<your user name>:Library:Preferences
select the LW ones and delete them.

default 8.5 preset:

in Layout, go to Edit >> Menu Layout.
in the upper right hand corner of the new window, choose 8.5 style.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:19 PM
HUH, When I tried to set my preset: 8.5 wasn't an option. The latest was 7.5 - default was grayed out

brunopeixoto
01-10-2006, 07:23 PM
It's a good idea to check your hd health (Disk Warrior is a good choice) and then delete your old program (keep your license) and then reinstall it.

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:25 PM
change it to 7.5, then to default (which is 8.5).

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:26 PM
then maybe post a screen of what you think isn't right.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:32 PM
Ive got the screenshot - how do I post it on this forum?
David

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:37 PM
change it to 7.5, then to default (which is 8.5).

NOPE - a bunch of menu items are still missing.

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:38 PM
have you done what was suggested?

you post an image by not using quick reply and clicking 'manage attachments'.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:40 PM
I did everything that was suggested so far. my items are still missing

:bangwall:

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:41 PM
attach an image and let's see what's missing. both layout and modeler if possible.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:43 PM
Here is the screenshot:

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:44 PM
here is the screenshot

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:45 PM
ok. layout looks fine. it's just a tad different from how it used to be. modeler?

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:46 PM
here it is - the screenshot!

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:47 PM
ok...that's enough layout screenshots! 3 is enough! modeler?

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:48 PM
didnt mean to post it 3 times... oops
what do you make of it?
I am missing the primitives and stuff - right?

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:49 PM
that was the modeler wanst it?

brunopeixoto
01-10-2006, 07:49 PM
Ok, LightWave has 2 modules - Layout (the one you grab a picture) and Modeler, where you will see the creat menu.

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:49 PM
i see the problem. there are 2 programs that come with Lightwave. Lightwave Layout (Lightwave.app) and Lightwave Modeler (Modeler.app). the things you're looking for are in Modeler.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:52 PM
They should be on the install disk?

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:54 PM
when you installed Lightwave, the default directory is Macintosh HD:Applications:Lightwave [8] (i think).

the folder you are running LW from has both of the application files mentioned above. the default location (if memory serves) is Macintosh HD:Applications:Lightwave [8]:Programs.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:55 PM
Man - do I feel like an idiot. I got modeler up and running. Thanks so much. I guess a fool has to start somewhere - right?

David S.
Jupiter-Cola

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 07:56 PM
haha. no worries. glad you got it sorted. :D :thumbsup:

brunopeixoto
01-10-2006, 07:56 PM
Or click on the little buttom named modeler on your top left window corner.

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:56 PM
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!

jupiter-cola
01-10-2006, 07:58 PM
Barnyard Movie

Cool Stuff - You Work For Them?

jeremyhardin
01-10-2006, 08:02 PM
yep i do. fun stuff. :D