PDA

View Full Version : Modeling question

cohominous
01-06-2006, 01:57 PM
I have a flat plastic blue piece like in the first picture. Is there a way to bow it into something like the second picture without the seam? (I mean without having to pull point by point). Is there a way to pull on one and have it affect the points around it to make a rounded bow?

P.S. sorry if these questions are obvious but I'm new to Lightwave and have a very tight deadline. It's hard to search for terms when you don't know what they are called in Lightwave.

ercaxus
01-06-2006, 02:10 PM
I don't know much about modeling/tweaking solid objects but I believe for this project you can use dragnet tool if you want to work with points(modify tab/translate/dragnet) or magnet tool if you want to work without clicking on any specific points and just define a volume in space.
Both of these tools have falloffs that you can set dragging your mouse with right mouse button.
Good luck :D

cresshead
01-06-2006, 06:42 PM
you could create some spline and then spline patch it....

here's a demo model for you to look thru...each layer is a step in the modeling proccess....and text is there to help you understand what was done...

cheers

stee+cats :lwicon:

Dodgy
01-07-2006, 04:04 PM
Modify>transform>spline guide is good for this. Select the polys to bow, and make sure you open the numeric panel (I work with it open as it's useful 90% of the time) as this tool has a lot of options.

Also good is using the Taper tool. Right click and draw out the gizmo from top top bottom, then use the right/left arrow keys to turn it into a double ended taper, and then use the up/down arrows to turn it into a smooth taper. Then left click drag to bow out the polys selected.

cresshead
01-07-2006, 05:02 PM