PDA

View Full Version : From lightwave to maya

Leprechaun
12-30-2005, 09:33 PM
Im trying to make the transition. Im finding maya to be very confusing. Things that are so simple in lightwave seem to be difficult to do or find in maya. Has anyone else made this transition? and if so does anyone know of any good very basic tutorials?
thanks

Hoopti
12-31-2005, 07:45 AM
Maybe you should try a Maya forum, like the one at CGTalk to help on this one.

Intuition
12-31-2005, 02:00 PM
I've been using Maya for 3 years now. I still prefer Lightwave though.

Maya should be approached from scratch.

Even though I use it regularly I still can do things about 2 to 3 times faster in Lightwave due to LW's simple interface and Its Modeler/Layout approach.

Now Maya has all these tools in the same area which can be confusing at first but should be learned on its own merit.

Maya has a somewhat clunky interface as far as how you reach numerical values and put on textures and what not, there is no reasoning why each interface is put where it is but once you learn where everything is and how to quick key these items you'll be burning through in no time.

On a side note I have heard of an Interface for Maya that converts it to look like Lightwave with all the values converted to %'s and the panels located like they are in Lightwave. I've asked around and have recieved no responses about it though so perhaps it is an internet myth.

Maya is currently my Cloud and Lava tool since Lightwave can do most of the rest. OH Maya has better sync with Z-Brush right now as well but hopefully LW9 will correct that.

Barry Oborne
01-01-2006, 10:32 AM
Leprechaun,