PDA

View Full Version : move, rotate, scale gizmo in modeler



cresshead
12-24-2005, 04:18 AM
move, rotate, scale gizmo in modeler like what you have in subobject mode in 3dsmax...also selectable co ordinate system for them such as local, view, screen and world.

the gizmos that are in layout are fine...just move them over to modeler too!

also a selectable 'color' to shade selected polys when in shaded view..such as RED for example.

MarcoFromBel
12-27-2005, 05:42 AM
I think this feature is not very indispensable, coz when you know shortcuts to control scale, move or rotate, you don't need a transform gizmo. This is a graphical feature, but LW have same possibilities...

But it is my opinion, i'm a noob huh :)

cresshead
12-27-2005, 05:57 AM
there's no local transform capability when you hve morte than 1 set of polys selected....

you do have...world
you do have...scale world or all.......
but you can't simply scale in 2d in 2 axis at once...and no simple locking of axis to scale in either...[2 axis at once]

there's not local or normal scale....you have to line up your viewport....

i gizmo like that or maya,silo,xsi or 3ds max would help.

as an 'option'...i'd hate to loose the mouse centre option though!

Celshader
12-27-2005, 10:59 AM
move, rotate, scale gizmo in modeler like what you have in subobject mode in 3dsmax...also selectable co ordinate system for them such as local, view, screen and world.

the gizmos that are in layout are fine...just move them over to modeler too!

Dunno about an "all-in-one" tool that includes scale. The Rove tool got added to Modeler in LW6 or LW7, and it has translation and rotation handles, but not many folks I know use it. They preferred to use the old-school shortcuts of t, y and h instead.

I know others who rave about the free PICTRIX (http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/body_a.html) move/rotate tools for LW Modeler while doing precision work:
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Sp_Move/index.html
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Sp_Roll/index.html
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Sp_Shear/index.html
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/SnapLine/index.html

I'm not sure if they do exactly what you need, though.

Lewis
12-27-2005, 11:36 AM
I agree that gizmos in modeler would be nice addition and i must say that this was already requested before :). BUT one note to implemantation would be to alow users to turn them OFF/ON at shourcut and even better per viewport by small viewport button/icon next to pan/zoom so that i can have them in perspective window and not need to have them in other views at same time.

Gizmos in MAX are too big (i know you can scale them but their ends/pointers are way too big :)) and i don't like how MAX outline selected object by somekind of square what often blocks view to some edges/polys :).

BTW do we have option to turn off gizmos/handles in layout ? I never needed that but i wonder now :).

Chris S. (Fez)
12-27-2005, 12:15 PM
I like the per-viewport gizmos display idea. Let us keep a viewport that displays nothing but geometry.

"i don't like how MAX outline selected object by somekind of square what often blocks view to some edges/polys"

In Max, hit the J key to toggle off selection brackets. I am sure Newtek knows brackets are a dumb idea.

Lewis
12-28-2005, 09:17 AM
Hi Chris, thanks for tip about brackets in MAX. BTW another one thing what is weird to me in MAX is those shortcuts when you say "J" do you mean "j" or "shift+j" :). That's weird part for me 'coz in MAX there is no small letters AFAIR ? there is only "J" and "shift+J" - right :). sorry at offtopic.

Celshader
12-28-2005, 12:01 PM
For what it's worth...this page has links to videos demo'ing PICTRIX' SpMove2:
http://spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10114

Lamont
12-28-2005, 01:32 PM
Wow, that's prety cool :)

Celshader
12-28-2005, 01:38 PM
Wow, that's prety cool :)

Yeah, and it's on sale for the first two weeks of January, too:
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/index5.html

I just preordered EasySpline (http://spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10024) a few days ago, but I might purchase SpMove2, too. It sure looks useful for $10.

For what it's worth, PICTRIX has even more videos demo'ing SpMove2 here:
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/index_1.html

Chris S. (Fez)
12-28-2005, 02:33 PM
Hi Chris, thanks for tip about brackets in MAX. BTW another one thing what is weird to me in MAX is those shortcuts when you say "J" do you mean "j" or "shift+j" :). That's weird part for me 'coz in MAX there is no small letters AFAIR ? there is only "J" and "shift+J" - right :). sorry at offtopic.

Yes, it is just the "j" key and yes, it is weird that they have no small letters (well, they do, it's just that "j"="J").

You have to be careful, though because Max has a "shortcut-key toggle override." In Max the hotkeys can change depending on what mode you are in, (subobject mode, editable spline mode, editable polygon, reactor mode etc..) If you want your hot-keys to always stay the same no matter which mode you are in, then activate the override.

My Max hotkeys have been customized to be like Lightwave, since I move back and forth between the two programs all day long.