PDA

View Full Version : Can I/Should I change certain prefs?



Johnny
12-17-2005, 09:23 AM
when LW quits, I have a set of backup prefs that I just toss back into my prefs folder, but there are a few things I keep having to re-set segment size in LW.

Also, new cameras seem to default to 680 x 480.

I'd like to have segment memory default to 48MB, and camera size default to HD 720

my question is: can I tinker with a prefs file to change those values, and is it ok OR ill-advised for me to do so?

thanks!

J

Dodgy
12-17-2005, 10:13 AM
Basically if you want to faff with them, back them up and try it is my advice :)

NickLambert
12-24-2005, 05:47 AM
I'm sure you know this, but here goes:

Your looking for the file:
LightWave Layout 8 Prefs

Found in user/library/preferences

Open in textedit & find these lines:

FrameSize 640 480
PixelAspect 1
DefaultSegmentMemory 32000000

Change to your requirements & save :thumbsup:

Johnny
12-24-2005, 07:57 AM
actually, I didn't really know that...I saw that stuff, but wasn't sure, so thanks for the confirmation!

J