PDA

View Full Version : What's Your Highest Educational Level?

DigiLusionist
05-11-2003, 01:09 PM
Newbies are always asking whether it's worth it to attend a CG/VFX school or not.

Based on some of the answers that get posted, I've been really curious to know how many professional 3D artists have ever attended college.

Rei
05-11-2003, 01:25 PM
I went to Uni, BUT. I went to Imerial College London, where I studied Engineering, and hence has not much relevence on my CGI skills. :D

Bytehawk
05-11-2003, 04:41 PM
Uni - but nothing graphics related.

PR, human resources, project management etc... :)

Lightwolf
05-11-2003, 05:19 PM
2 years of Uni computer science... and then I quit. Too much theory ;)
Then an internship doing business graphics on computers (which was a treat in '92), then I freelanced a bit, and now I have my own company since '96 (co-owner).
But, this year I got to be a guest lecturer at the Filmakademie Ludwigsburg, "Rendering 101", comparing Renderers and Techniques (not too bad, considering that they turned me down as a student :D ).
Cheers,
Mike

Rory_L
05-11-2003, 09:52 PM
Polytechnic. (Poor man`s Uni :) )

...Where I did the first two years of a Biology Degree and realised it wasn`t for me, so I did the end of year exams and converted that to a diploma, so the time wasn`t wasted. Then, with that clutched in my sweaty fist I was eligible to enter the third year of a D.I.Y. Art degree. Within the Poly was a department called the School for Independent Study. (Can anyone say "Hippy hotbed"?) That`s where I was given the time to explore ways of illustrating the images creeping around in my skull. No tuition, but plenty of time to investigate possibilities and polish the then rather rough skills.

All in all, it was a very useful experience. Even the Biology course, with its emphasis on comparative physiognomy has made its mark on the CG artist me.