PDA

View Full Version : Why Lightwave?

dschnare
12-11-2005, 11:14 PM
Hey guys (ahem, and girls),

I'm new to the LW community (and to LW as a matter of fact), so ... hello there!

I've just purchased a copy of LW 8, eagerly anticipating the release of LW 9 (yeah baby!). I'm currently a computer science student in my fourth year of studies, and only now am I finally getting back to my artistic roots, and diving into 3D. I've tried many other applications ([all-in-one] -- Maya, 3DSMax, Blender, [modelling] -- Zbrush, Nendo, Silo) but to me, LW seemed just way more intuitive and easy to learn.

So, my LW compadre, I want to ask you, why Lightwave? :lwicon:

P.S.

Don't worry guys, LW 9 will get here when it's ready. As a software engineer, I know these things usually take a lot longer than planned for. Give it time, and try to empathize with the developers working on this software -- definitely not an easy feat, trust me.

Thanks eh,

Darren S.

Captain Obvious
12-12-2005, 04:38 AM
I can't stand the user interface of most other applications. Lightwave's cheap, too, and surprisingly competent. :D

Emmanuel
12-12-2005, 07:44 AM
Cause it rocks, period.

Tiger
12-12-2005, 09:37 AM
Why Lightwave? Why not?
If the shoe fits-wear it! :thumbsup:

Emmanuel
12-12-2005, 09:43 AM
Especially if its a rocket shoe :)

dschnare
12-12-2005, 11:05 AM
Why Lightwave? Why not?
If the shoe fits-wear it! :thumbsup:

Nice analogy. So basically, LW is faster (and will be even faster with the release of LW 9 from what I understand) and is more intuitive to both learn and use, and more productive than other 3D apps. This is good, very good. Thanks guys, this was my first thoughts as well when I first tried LW. Thanks for the input! :thumbsup:

- DS

Signal to Noise
12-12-2005, 12:08 PM
- Easy & Intuitive
- Inexpensive
- Virtually a complete package in 1 box at 1 pricepoint.
- Plenty of resources, free or otherwise
- Friendly user community

:thumbsup:

adhesiveX
12-12-2005, 12:49 PM