PDA

View Full Version : *Basic* Removing Center of "O" Text



DefcomDMC
12-06-2005, 11:52 AM
I've loaded in some text through EPS Loader. I need to remove the center of my "a", "e", and "o"s. I selected the polygon, moved it to a seperate layer, extruded it, but when I boolean subtract it doesn't remove the center. What is the "proper" way to do this?

DefcomDMC
12-06-2005, 12:06 PM
Ok I carefully Selected the polygon that was left and deleted it. However now my "a" has 2 points shooting across the center to the opposite side, how do I select just those 2 to bring them back? They are occupying the same space as 2 other points, 4 total.

jpaugh78
12-06-2005, 12:07 PM
if you just have a polygon that you want removed, but you want to keep the points, can you just hit k (remove poly) ? Or am i understanding you wrong?

Dexter2999
12-06-2005, 12:27 PM
I usualy select the inner portions the text and take it to a new layer. I dont ususally use Boolean. I tend to use Tunnel. Then extrude the text after.

DefcomDMC
12-06-2005, 12:29 PM
Isn't there a shortcut that I can select a point and hit a key and it will add the surrounding points to the selection?

Dexter2999
12-06-2005, 12:42 PM
Have you tried checking the box that says AUTO AXIS DRILL when you use the EPS loader?

DefcomDMC
12-06-2005, 12:48 PM
No, I had not.

It looks like that would've worked great if I'd cleaned up the EPS abit.

DefcomDMC
12-07-2005, 09:17 AM
How can I repair the center of the A?

mattclary
12-07-2005, 10:59 AM
Kill the offending poly. k on your keyboard as jpaugh78 said.

DefcomDMC
12-07-2005, 11:31 AM
it's attached to the rest of the face of the "A".

My best solution was to knife the polygon, weld the resulting points and drag them back into place. But maybe there's a better way...?

liquidpope
12-07-2005, 11:42 AM
You could also have "tripled" the a, removed that one poly, then made them all one again.

Matt
12-07-2005, 04:45 PM
This may help, did it for someone else, but applies here too!

For some reason the recording was chopped off just before the end, but you don't miss anything.

Tutorial: EPS to LightWave (Quicktime | 7MB)
http://www.creactive-design.co.uk/temp/EPS_to_LightWave.mov

Hope that helps!

Cheers
Matt

Shaneckel
12-07-2005, 10:52 PM
Taking that eps loader into consideration, is there anyway to make an eps sub-D friendly?

Silkrooster
12-08-2005, 12:47 AM
Maybe triple it or use add edges. Most if not all eps/ai imports will be n-gons. So they will require some hand work to make them 3 or 4 point polys. With tripling being the quickest.
Silk