PDA

View Full Version : win LW 8.3/8.5 crashing...



tkinga
12-06-2005, 04:10 AM
Hi..

I don't know where to start,
LW 8.3/8.5 on my pc seems to be crashing all to often for me,
for example, if I load an object in layout and open up the
scene editor and go to surface mode after selecting the object
a few clicks of the order button brings LW down, I started a render
and switched over to have a look at the images being rendered and
bang it fell over. The funny thing is I got a friend to try the same thing
on LW8 and ha did not have any of the problems, I then asked him
to try out 8.3 and ****, it started crashing at the same places as mine.

I don't know but, is the package getting less stable as more and more
plugins are being deployed as standard without full testing.

I having so much trouble going through the book, one other problem
I've been having is bones, as soon as I start working with them, I know
I will never complete a task without a crash.

Have I set up something wrong or what, I had a chance to play around
with LW7.5 a while back, it seem rock solid me, I don't remmember EVER
crashing, what's going on ?

A of mine's brother who worked on Captain Scalet recently jumped ship
and migrated to XSI, claiming he had had enough, he also said many animators
were doing the same.

I have always liked LW and jumped at the thought of getting a copy and learning
it, but what can I do if it's crashing so often that I can't really justify the
frustration.

I really hope I've set a graphics option wrong or something....
I use a QuadroFX 1400 and the default Lightwave setting, can anyone
tell me if I need to tweek it a little..

Thanks
Tom

BeeVee
12-06-2005, 05:55 AM
hey Tom,

Personally I've found 8.5 to be more stable than 7.5 on my machine, although one thing I do find is that configs are far more fragile than they used to be, so can I suggest you repair them following these steps and then report back to us on whether your stability has improved?

WARNING! This will kill any customisations you have made, so it's a good idea to use the editors to save menus and shortcuts.
1. Load the Layout portion of LightWave;
2. Hit Alt F11 (or go into the Utilities Tab and click on the Edit Plug-Ins button) and then the Scan Directory button and point it to your LightWave plugins folder. It will scan the plug-ins and give you a message like "xxx Plug-Ins found in xxx files.";
3. Hit Alt F10 (or go to the Edit menu and choose Edit Menu Layout) and change the Presets menu to LightWave 7.5. Return to it and change it back to Default;
4. Hit Alt F9 (or go to the Edit menu and choose Edit Keyboard Shortcuts) and change the Presets menu to LightWave 7.5. Return to it and change it back to Default;
5. Now quit LightWave and start Modeler from your new icon;
6. Repeat steps 3 and 4 but be aware that the Preset Menu will only offer LightWave 7.0;
7. Quit Modeler and quit Hub too.

B

tkinga
12-06-2005, 08:13 AM
Thanks Ben..

I can't wait to give it a shot..
Thanks for the fast responce..

I just noticed the **** in my last post, I promise it was not a rude
word, it was the opposite of heaven, he.. , I don't know maybe the
forum text scanner is atheist or cicular.. I wonder what it will put
place of heaven..

I hope the modeler won't change much, I absolute love it and always
have.

One quick question if I may, I loaded an image sequence into LW,
but when I play it back it's increadibly slow.. is that normal ?


Thanks again (merci)
Tom

BeeVee
12-06-2005, 08:26 AM
depends on the image sequence and the frame rate you are playing back at? I need to know more info please...

B

tkinga
12-06-2005, 09:23 AM
Oops..

Framerate... hmmm...
I don't think I've looked at that, sorry.
I guess I'm jumping ahead of the reff manual a little,
it is big a big book..

Sorry about that,
I guess I better keep working through the book :bangwall: before I
ask another stupid question, hopefully I will not have anymore crashes..

Thanks
Tom

BeeVee
12-06-2005, 09:33 AM
hey don't worry about it! Ask away, you can only get ridiculed at worst... ;)

B