PDA

View Full Version : ScreamerNet Rendering Problem

Liberator
12-05-2005, 05:31 AM
Hi all,

It's my first attempt setting up ScreamerNet and suprise suprise, I've run into a problem.

I set it up using Matt Gorner's video tutorial and everything seems to work fine except for one thing: No matter what I set the output file type to (tga, jpeg etc), ScreamerNet will only render out .flx files:stumped:

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Any help much appreciated:)

donny
12-06-2005, 03:29 PM
Sounds like the nodes are not able to find the plugins or perhaps the config files. Check they LightWave ScreamerNet shortcut to make sure what preferences it is using. Then check the lwext8.cfg file in the config_sn and see where it is pulling the plugins from. It needs to have the mapped location and the local folder.

paulhart
12-06-2005, 04:29 PM
I tried to get consistant responses from ScreamerNet, eventually decided my time was worth more than the aggravation, and until Lightwave makes it easier, (i.e. click, activate, select project, render, done) I have opted to use Amleto. The 5 license version works fine for me, easy to setup, good feedback, excellent support via email. Take a look if you get too frustated. ( www.nodalideas.com)
Paul

Matt
12-06-2005, 05:37 PM
Yep, sounds like SN can't find your plugins.

The location of your plugins are stored in your LWEXT8.cfg file, so what you need to check are two things:

A) Your path / access rights to the folder where your config files for network rendering are stored

B) Make sure the LWEXT8.cfg file has the paths to the plugins in a 'network-aware' format, basically not pointing to your local copy (usually C:\Program Files\LightWave[8]\Plugins\ ...)

Matt

Liberator
12-07-2005, 07:28 AM
*Sigh* It's getting worse now. Now they won't render anything at all!:bangwall:

I just can't see where I'm going wrong. I don't know if this helps, but here is the text of my Node1.bat:

@echo OFF
REM Turn command echoing off by default