PDA

View Full Version : Funky Volumetric Lights

PiNs
02-15-2003, 09:53 PM
Ok. Been using LW for a little bit now, but i'm still learning. Here is my problem. Say I start a clean scene, place a spotlight and turn on volumetrics for it, then put it in sprite mode, and use a texture, ST Clouds to be exact. Looks nice using an envelope to tweak the settings and whatnot. I have everything down fine. But, I am making a little space scene with a friend, and a big effect in it involves that exact kind of light. Only thing is, the scene is on a huge scale (made this mistake from the beginning but not too difficult to workaround for me.). I have to make the height of the vol. cone to 20 Mm! But, when i render the light at this size, it turn out totally different then when on a smaller scale, say like 10 meters. If i play with the texture settings i can only get it extremely grainy, or flat, with no sign of the texture at all. Anyone know how I may be able to fix this? I'm pretty sure its because of the scale its on, but since I am already deep into the scene, I really don't want to resize everything. Any help would be much appreciated.

Alec Trevelyan
02-15-2003, 09:56 PM
I've encountered this before. Multipass it! aka compositing the separate elements together from separate renders...haven't actually tried it, but it seems like the logical thing t do ....

PiNs
02-15-2003, 10:03 PM
Hmm...thanks for such a quick reply. But, unfortunately I have not done any compositing in Lightwave as of yet. I will, although, check out some tuts on it to help me learn, seems quite useful for some things I want to try. But, as for now, does anyone have a seperate answer beside what Alec has stated? I would prefer it if there was a way where i could tweak a few settings to get it working right.

Skonk
02-16-2003, 04:36 AM
Have u scaled the ST Cloud texture up by the same ammount u had to scale the volume? if not then u would end up with the texture so small u cant see it.

James..