PDA

View Full Version : animating text



smcstravick
11-30-2005, 09:14 AM
Hi All,

Simple question, can anyone point me to a tutorial on how to animate some text being written?

I know i've seen tutorials like this before, and i've even animated this before, but my mind has gone blank, and can't remember the way i did it before, and can't find the tutorial that i followed before!

any help appreciated.

Thanks,
Steven.

Silkrooster
11-30-2005, 08:17 PM
Try creating the text using a spline, increase the number of points to maximum value, then apply a hypervoxel that grows along the spline. You should beable to find a tutorial by Splinegod that used this method to grow a vine. If you can't find the tutorial on his website, you should beable to find it at kurv studios.
Silk

SplineGod
12-02-2005, 02:07 AM
What kind of text? Does it need to look 3d or like pencil/pen?

smcstravick
12-02-2005, 03:33 AM
its got to look like pencil on paper. i've got the look that i want, but i just have to animate it now.

i've included a render to show you what its like.

thanks.

SplineGod
12-02-2005, 05:06 AM
As Silkrooster mentioned I have a video tutorial that came on the 3rd party content CD that shows how to create growing vines. The same method can easily work for the text. Use HV sprites instead of surface HVs. Those can make it look like pencil.

smcstravick
12-02-2005, 05:55 AM
ok, i'll give that a go.

thanks for all the advise.

erikals
12-02-2005, 08:01 AM
Another trick is to use a wacom to write the text in e.g. PhotoShop and use a desktop videorecorder to record it as you write. Then use the .avi in LW.

erikals
12-02-2005, 08:51 AM
...just had to try it first,
it works, but having a A4 tablet would be the best in this case if you write a lot of text (I think Trust has some cheap ones) As you can see it worked, but text looks so-so as I use only A5 format.

http://www.erikalstad.com/cgtemp/WacomWrite.zip
This text test is using about 1/4 of the width of the A5 tablet.

http://www.erikalstad.com/cgtemp/WacomWrite2.zip
Test 2 is using the whole tablet area and is recorded in 800x600 screen resolution.

thekho
12-05-2005, 01:11 PM
Or http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?p=154492#post154492 which i wrote a quick tutorial last year.

smcstravick
01-18-2006, 04:05 AM
thanks for all the advice with this. i've had limited success with what i'm trying to achieve, by following splinegod's vine tutorial. a problem that i have come across now though is that the order of the points in my spline aren't in the right order. so the line is appearing randomly. is there a command in modeller to reorder the points according to the start and end point? its been so long since i did any work with splines, i've forgotten so much!

SplineGod
01-18-2006, 04:30 AM
Is the text a single spline or several?

smcstravick
01-18-2006, 04:52 AM
its actually a few shapes that i'm drawing on screen now. sorry i should have been clearer in my earlier post. the text is working ok now. but the splines for the shapes were made by converting an existing logo into a few splines. i did this by killing the original polygon, then selecting the points in the correct order then making an open curve. i would have thought selecting the points in order would have ordered the points in the spline the way i needed them, but for some reason it hasn't.

thanks for helping me with this, i really appreciate it.

SplineGod
01-18-2006, 02:59 PM
You would need to make the splines for the shapes a single spline or separate them each into their own layer. You would set up the first spline as an emitter and then copy/paste the settings to the next spline. You would have the 2nd emitter start emitting particles when the first spline stops emitting particles. You would do this to each spline so that they start drawing in the correct sequence.
If the splines are disconnected but in the same layer they will all start drawing at the same time in unpredictable ways. Thats why I set up my splines the way I did in the vines tutorial so that each branch starts emitting at specific times.

smcstravick
01-19-2006, 04:09 AM
the spline that i'm using is a single spline in its own layer, just like you mentioned in the vine tutorial. i've attached a picture to show whats happening. instead of the particles appearing in a smooth sequence from the start to the end of the spline. they are appearing randomly all over it. you might not be able to tell by the picture, but the points are fairly evenly spaced around the spline.

SplineGod
01-19-2006, 04:11 AM
Try converting the spline to a string of 2 point polys. You can do that by rail extruding a single point poly. Make sure the points are dense enough.

mightpeebler
05-11-2007, 09:22 AM
How would you animate text that looks 3d? Like this MK12 video. http://youtube.com/watch?v=FpumrurNdII

Dodgy
05-11-2007, 10:49 AM
For that you'd use fertilizer.
http://www2.informatik.hu-berlin.de/~goetsch/Fertilizer/

shakeyman
05-12-2007, 07:24 AM
You could also use the Marker Pen Procedural which is included in the "Denis Pontonnier Collection"
There´s also a pretty nice tutorial on how to use it to write on sheet of paper
Tutorial can be found here (http://perso.orange.fr/dpont/Lscript_Plugin_Development_en.htm)
Link to RMan Collection with the procedurals: here (http://perso.orange.fr/dpont/plugins/Textures.htm)

mightpeebler
05-15-2007, 09:40 AM
Dodgy, I tried that plug-in that you suggested. It's really awesome! Thankk you!

Here is what I made. What do you guys think?

mightpeebler
05-15-2007, 10:14 AM
I had to attach my scene file and modler file because for some reason my rendered quicktime movie that I sent to a zipped folder would not upload.

Dodgy
05-15-2007, 10:53 AM
Cool :)

OOZZEE
05-15-2007, 12:00 PM
have you tried this

http://perso.orange.fr/dpont/plugins/textures/MarkerPen.html

OOZZEE
05-15-2007, 12:00 PM
sorry - missed the post with this already there..

mightpeebler
05-15-2007, 01:04 PM
Are there any exmples of marker pen that show 3-D text?

shakeyman
05-15-2007, 03:00 PM
Marker Pen is just a procedural which you can use to write onto something.
It doesn´t generate 3d text

erikals
05-20-2007, 07:02 AM
Adding a displacement map could work, depends on the look u want.
(it'd require a dense mesh I guess so rendertime might be high)

For normal 3D extruded text, using morped letters in combination with morphed displacement will work. (Hm, I should try this...)

erikals
05-20-2007, 10:31 AM
Eh, weeell, sort of works, needs more work.
http://erikalstad.com/cgtemp/MorphText.zip