PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a newbie~ and hardware question

DrTWT
11-28-2005, 10:23 PM
Hello all,

I've been lurking for sometime and have really enjoyed the posts, the tips, and especially the renders and the wires; very inspirational.

I'm relatively new to Lightwave, have been through the Alban book, and have done quite a bit of web tutorials. I have a long way to go and am looking forward to being a part of this community. I am an emergency physician by trade, but on the side I am developing several educational programs using 3D animation, and have found that I enjoy creating the CG more than anything else.

I do have a hardware question~ I am currently running a dual opteron system with 2GB of RAM, and thinking of moving up to Windows 64 and the LW 64. To see a significant increase in performance, how what else do I need to do-- mainly, how much additional RAM is needed to make the whole effort worthwhile??

TIA, and looking forward to hanging out here...

T

Silkrooster
11-28-2005, 11:05 PM
Welcome to the community. You are in a great position, knowing what all the medical equipment looks like, the access you have to photo the equipment assuming your boss doesn't catch wind. :hey: Access to anatomy books (but then I am quite sure you have studied those for a couple of hours. :D ).
As far your system goes, if you can afford to, max out the amount of ram you can put in it. Also make sure you have a video card that can support OpenGL version 2.0. If you can do those two things, you will be glad you did.
Silk

Captain Obvious
11-28-2005, 11:23 PM
64-bit Lightwave doesn't have better performance than 32-bit Lightwave. The difference between the two is that the 64-bit version can handle more data in a scene without choking, provided you actually have the required RAM. If you've never had Lightwave run out of RAM, going to the 64-bit version won't really do much good.

DogBoy
11-29-2005, 02:51 AM