PDA

View Full Version : 3d animation in film

rusty cooley
11-24-2005, 05:11 AM
Hi I'm new to this forum. I am studying digital media and this year i have to do a thesis. My chosen topic is "The influence of 3d animation on the film industry" anyone got any input for me like stuff i should include films and people i should contact. Any info will be greatly appreciated!

Dodgy
11-24-2005, 06:39 AM
Tron, The Abyss, Terminator 2, Toy Story were all benchmarks in 3d animation...

BeeVee
11-24-2005, 07:24 AM
Don't forget Drastic Park and Last StarFighter... Rusty, you need to look for Isaac Kerlow's book, from which you can just pinch his timeline etc... :D

B

gatesoffire1178
11-26-2005, 01:16 PM
What about Polar Express? I know it wasn't a masterpiece or anything but it was the first animated movie of its kind. Now the director Robert Zemeckis wants to do the same thing with Beowulf.

radams
11-26-2005, 02:03 PM
Well, so many influences...it has changed the way we do everything from matte creation, previz, to allowing stories to now be told that could not before. Do you think that we would have gotten the same feeling of Lord of the Rings without the mix of technologies...BTW, 3D by itself is not the most changing...it is with its incorporation with other techniques that has made it SO effective. Even with Pixar's stuff..it isn't just one technique.

Ben, I am so glad that someone mentioned Last Star Fighter...that was the first ALL computer 3D VFX for a feature film...it took guts, some major geeks and a mainframe to do it.

Now also look at what 3D is doing today...look at Sin CIty....one of the first ALL chroma keyed features...All the sets and worlds were keyed...using many technologies...including 3D tracking and 3D CGI and Comps.