PDA

View Full Version : morphing

Ricky
02-15-2003, 10:14 PM
Hi, I'm new to lightwave and I need to morph one object to another, but I don't really know how to do it, I heard about a morphing tool in lightwave. Can anyone help?

Prosprctor
02-16-2003, 12:15 PM
Endo-morph ???

Not really morphing from 1 object to another, but more of morphing individual actions, (like speech,eye movement, muscle movement and such), can be used for arm, finger, and leg bending BUT endo-morphs don't do radiii morphs, so arm movement (unless it is done within a frame or 2) will look horribly wrong.

If you go from 1 object to a totally new object and make it look right, I would do an 'Object replacement' with endo-morphs.
So it would look like this......

Layer 1 in modeler....original object
Layer 2 in modeler....morph to object

Now comes the detail work..and the better you want it to look depends on how ya do your detail work here.

In layer 1 make a new endo-morph and start moving points so that they start looking like the background (layer 2) but don't go too far because points 'only move in straight line' for endo-morphs.
So small moves with moving points look better(remember, ya can have more than 1 endo-morph)
so after ya have the points moved a little and it starts to take on the general shape of the bkgrnd, do a 'copy map' for that morph.
then make another endo-morpf for that object and paste the copied map and continue moving points till your halfway to background object.

Switch layers and copy layer 2 and drop it into layer 3

with layer 3 open and layer 1 in bkgrnd
make an endo morph for this object and pull the points to match the background as best as possable.
copy map

now put layer 2 in background
make a new endo-morph for layer 3 and paste the map and continue moving points to match the new layer, making a few morphs to make it look normal by coping the map and doing new morph.