PDA

View Full Version : Mysterious polygon shadow problem

apaulcalypse
11-22-2005, 01:49 AM
Ok, I posted a problem i was having with SasLite a few days ago and got great help, so sorry to trouble everyone again, but I just can't figure this out...

Problem:
My mesh seems to have polygons missing [that aren't actually missing], which makes for random holes in my character. His shadows also are spotted with holes because of this. Antialiasing doesn't help, even set to the max.

Process of getting to this problem:
I had been trying to use SasLite on my main character (yeti) model, but his polygon count was too high. After help from this forum, I sliced him up into different layers, and had these new layers "use bones from" my original layer. I then aprented all the new layers to the original layer. Then I had to reset all my bones to their rest position at frame -1. After this, I noticed the missing-polygon-looking problem.

I'm fairly new to Lightwave, and aside from anti-aliasing, I wasn't sure what else to try. I would guess that the missing polygons would show up along the seams where I sliced, but when I looked, most of the missing polygons did not lie on any seams at all. There are just random polygons missing from random parts of the yeti's body.

I'll include two pictures, to show what's happening. It's really weird, and I can't figure it out. Any help, ideas or feedback is much appreciated, and I'm sorry to bug you all with another problem so soon.

jeanphi
11-22-2005, 06:07 AM
Check if you have non planar poly in modeler. If you have some triple them.

jeanphi
11-22-2005, 06:09 AM
Yoy should triple all of them if you do animations deformations on poly models.
If it is just static models, just triple non planar polys.
You don't have to triple if you use subdiv.

apaulcalypse
11-22-2005, 12:47 PM
That's the weird thing... I have no polygons with more than 4 vertices, no non-planar polygons, nothing like that. I can't figure it out.

gerry_g