PDA

View Full Version : A Multi Stencil and Updated Boolean tools



RedBull
11-19-2005, 03:32 PM
This is a long time request...

Lightwave has long had a fairly unreliable stencil, boolean and drill tools..
They work! But often they don't.... (usually when you really need'em to)

For example it is possible to have stencil work on geometry and then use Undo and Redo and have it fail on the exact same operation the 2nd time.
This can occur with all drill and boolean subtract tools.

I also would like to have a Mult-Stencil......
A stencil, that can stencil multiple surfaces in the same instance.
As this would save me a lot of effort, frequently. (100's of hours over the years)

Thankyou!

erikals
05-03-2006, 04:29 PM
I see no one replied on this http://erikalstad.com/smiley/Notsatisfied.gif
Agreed.

..was gonna make a new post but since one already is up.
I will let the picture speak for itself.
http://erikalstad.com/cgtemp/BadBooleanBoy.gif

cobaltman
05-03-2006, 11:02 PM
Yo! Yeah, I know what you guys are talking about. I've had a few boolean issues when I was trying (note that I said "trying") to make a decoration for something. I also have some boolean issues using text objects. I agree with Red; boolean needs improvement.

dark_wisdom
05-16-2006, 07:55 AM
I just looked at the LWCad functionality and cryed. The company won't spring for any thing other than Lightwave they got me. So now if it's boolean doesn't improve I have to sit patching up my meshes the old way... manually. I really agree with this request.

erikals
05-16-2006, 08:14 AM
Here's a slight fix.. sort of... gotta go..
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?p=3549722

Pavlov
05-16-2006, 08:43 AM
are you sure your geometry is perfectly closed ? booleans are not supposed to work with open geometry. This means you should check your objects and be sure tey're "water-proof", otherwise these issues are quite common. Never got problems with booleans and closed geometry.
I agree Boolean/drilling tools should be deeply updated: they need to become interactive and animatable.

Paolo

erikals
05-31-2006, 12:01 PM
Sorry 4 late reply.
Yup, the objects are closed, however it is a non-planar polygon.
It seems a bit weired to me that I'm forced to use only planar polygons when using boolean, it is a somewhat of a drawback when doing e.g. complex organic-like modeling. or is this common in other 3D packages as well?

Hope NT can make a boolean that works with non-planars or a tool/plugin that automatically makes all non-plar polygons planar.

I read somewhere there was a "planarizer?" plugin that could have hepled, but it seems to be gone.

For now afaik the alternatives for making them planar are,
1-tripling the object
2-subpatch and freezing the object
(+untriple plugin can be handy) (TB_Untriple)