PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Illustrator into Lightwave for Sign Design

soulspin
11-18-2005, 07:09 AM
:newhere:

Hi,

I have zero experience with Lightwave and I am in need of some input.

I design electric signs (monuments, channel letters etc) for a sign company and I use Adobe Illustrator CS2. My boss started this company and previously worked for a different sign firm. He hired me without any sign experience as he wanted to have everyone start fresh and run the company his way. At his previous company he says he saw designers take drawings from Illustrator, input them into Lightwave and "Boom" they would be 3D and look realistic and still be to scale etc etc.

I wrote Lightwave asking if this was possible and they said as long as the files are saved as version 6-8 of Illustrator.

Here's my question, does anyone have experience with this? How difficult is it to manipulate a 2D Illustrator sketch into 3D Lightwave? I know it cannot be as easy as...well, "Boom"...

Also, I use a CADtools plugin for dimensioning and I'm concerned about that translating into Lightwave.

Any tips, comments, suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated as I'm told my drawings are too "flat". 8~

Thanks!

BeeVee
11-18-2005, 07:30 AM
It is pretty much that simple - load the EPS and extrude it. Of course, you can get fancier, using Multishift to create routed bevels and such...

B

soulspin
11-18-2005, 07:33 AM
Really! Wow...What about the depth of the sign? Is that easy to work with?

Also, is there a trial version?

Thanks for replying!

BeeVee
11-18-2005, 07:47 AM
Extrusion is what gives the depth of the sign. Contact NewTek to get them to send you a demo disc...

B

soulspin
11-18-2005, 07:49 AM
Extrusion is what gives the depth of the sign. Contact NewTek to get them to send you a demo disc...

B

Thanks BeeVee!

pdrake
11-18-2005, 09:46 AM
wow, and here i've been wasting all this time learning texturing, lighting and proper camera angles. :bowdown: :neener: