PDA

View Full Version : Reflection not working



Master25
11-02-2005, 06:30 PM
i was trying to use reflection on my computer one day and when i rendered it out i did not work. yes i had reflection checked in render options. I am not an idiot. help!

objuan
11-02-2005, 07:09 PM
check the shaders tab on the reflective surface. you may have an errant shader that is messing things up. i'm still growing back hair from a similar problem a few months back. BDRF was my mysterious culprut, is he trying to strike again?

Master25
11-02-2005, 08:13 PM
no shaders being used in shader tab. I have used reflection before and it worked right, but now it does not. This is a rendered picture of an ax using reflection. the metal should have a sheen to it when using reflection. as u can see it doesn't.
the metal should look like crome.

its a bad model i know.
but it should show my point.

still not sure whats wrong.

Silkrooster
11-02-2005, 09:54 PM
Try something other than a black background.
Silk

Master25
11-02-2005, 10:54 PM
thanks for that silkrooster. i dont know why i didnt think of that.
it looks alot more like brushed crome now.
though i still have alot of ajusting to do.

objuan
11-03-2005, 12:23 PM
yep, a reflection is only as good as what it is reflecting.

here's a map I made which I think makes for a nice spherical reflection map on metal surfaces.

look ma, no seems!