PDA

View Full Version : RS-8 Alternative



Keith Goodyer
11-02-2005, 04:38 PM
This isnt realy third party, but does involve third party hardware.

Being a tactile kind of guy I like lots of real knobs and buttons. The RS-8 quiet frankley didnt have enough sex for me. Having an old PDG-418 Vision Mixer ( http://www.usbroadcast.com/pdg418_1.jpg ) I decided to embark on a project to interface the old control panel from it into my VT.

Well after a few weeks of work, and a change of programmers we now have a fully functional desk interfaced with VT (Using just an RS422 cable and software). All three bus's (Upto 18 inputs), the T-Bar, Chroma, Linear, and Luma Keyer (You can even set the colour from the rotary knobs). Full DSK control (Including DSK source select). DVE's can be selected using the numerical keypad, and transition times can be punched in also. We also have a one touch record button. basicly press the button and the output is recorded, press it again and it stops (Creates a new filename each press).

In theory we could interface toaster into any desk with RS232 / 422 - we will try doing a Grass Valley GVG-100/110 next - you can pick them up on e-bay for next to nothing, at which point we will make a public release of 'ToasterSlap'

For our next trick, we are going to attempt external DDR control (actualy we already have it working using unused buttons on the desk, but are trying to find a sutible external controller) any ideas?

Big thanks to Aussi for the toaster script documentation - confused the **** out of us to start with, but we got there in the end.

Best regards to all

Keith
J13 Broadcast
Milton Keynes
England

Jim_C
11-02-2005, 04:40 PM
WOW! This is breakthrough news....

NICE Work!!

Keith Goodyer
11-02-2005, 04:50 PM
Thanks Jim - I will post some pictures of the whole rig tommorow. We used the system last week to shoot a Live DVD for John Wetton and Geoff Down (ASIA / King Crimson). The Director had no idea he was using a VT. As far as he was concerned he was using a VideoTek PDG-418 Vision Mixer. The only diffrence is he had 100's of DVE's at his finger tips, rather than the sad 32 boring wipes that were originaly available on that switcher.

Keith

mikkowilson
11-02-2005, 05:50 PM
VERY cool! :bowdown:

Get the GVG110 working and you will be VERY popular!

Do all the panel indicators work? - Buttons light up, display correct transition duration, etc..
How about the transition control section? Backround/Key Cut/Auto...

- Mikko

chribba
11-03-2005, 02:59 AM
Wow, now i like this a lot, i have been waiting for someone to come up with some alternatives...

thanks
chribba

Keith Goodyer
11-03-2005, 03:21 AM
Yes, all the buttons and panel indicators light up correctly! Cut, Auto & T-Bar all work corrctly, and you can select Background, Key or DSK from the desk, along with transition type, Mix, Wipe, or FTB (Fade to black). Transition times are set on the keyboard in Frames, just hit the Trans Time Button, followed by the number of frames, the Enter.

Looks like we need to get the GVG100/110 version going.

Keith

Keith Goodyer
11-03-2005, 03:38 AM
Piccy as prommised

Jim Capillo
11-03-2005, 05:39 AM
Looks like we need to get the GVG100/110 version going.


Sign me up ! :thumbsup:

SCS
11-03-2005, 07:05 AM
Same Here! Are you looking for beta testers?

A few questions:

1. Will you need the GVG 100 rack unit as well as the desktop section?
2. Will the GVG 100 work as well as the GVG 110?
3. There is a 'kinda' m/e feature with the GVG 100 allowing you to set up limited wipes and keys, then bringing those to program - could that be implemented?
4. Got any thoughts about audio? (maybe the GVG companion audio board)... is Automation possible?

Pryzm
11-03-2005, 07:33 AM
Will this allow us to control VT like a deck (the ddr part)? This would open up a LOT of access to using VT with ProTools systems like the M-box (don't need the big system yet). This would give uncompressed output with audio in realtime.

thanks,

bruce

mikkowilson
11-03-2005, 02:18 PM
Jezus that's SWEEEET.

..ok, so does the panel have Tally outputs, and do they work (for more than just the 8 channels of the VT)
And do the panel buttons have both high and low tally status (2 brightness levels)?

- Mikko

badllarma
11-04-2005, 12:50 AM
I'll sign up fo rthis one as well :thumbsup:

Would it work for VT2 ?

Keith Goodyer
11-04-2005, 04:49 AM
1. Will you need the GVG 100 rack unit as well as the desktop section?

No it only requires the pannel - put the mainframe on Ebay :)

2. Will the GVG 100 work as well as the GVG 110?

Yes its only the panel, and they are virtualy the same

3. There is a 'kinda' m/e feature with the GVG 100 allowing you to set up limited wipes and keys, then bringing those to program - could that be implemented?

We havent implemented this yet, but there is no reason to no implement it.

4. Got any thoughts about audio? (maybe the GVG companion audio board)... is Automation possible?

This project is just about external control of toaster, we could easily control the audio mixer - but im not sure how audio control was implemented on a GVG panel. But you could just set up VT to link the switcher and audio mixer.

5.does the panel have Tally outputs, and do they work (for more than just the 8 channels of the VT)

No, but we could easily design an add on box to give you 24 Tally lights. What kind of output do people want? TTL (As existing Toaster BOB Tally) or Closing Relay (Which is far more usefull).

6. Do the panel buttons have both high and low tally status (2 brightness levels)?

Not at the moment - we didnt need it in our application, but no reason not to.

7. Would it work for VT2 ?

No Idea, We havent tested on a VT2, but saying that as all the SDK documentation we used from Aussi was originaly written for VT2, I can see why it wouldnt work - may have to make a few code changes because some of the internal VT stuff changed its name. ie. Switcher , became Switcher2.

8. Do we need beta testers

Well anybody with a PDG-418 desk can beta test, when we get a GVG version working, we will put it out for beta.


Keith

Keith Goodyer
11-04-2005, 04:52 AM
A picture of our layout, we also control a DataVideo SE800 4 channel vision mixer from the VT machine. This is primarly used to convert the component output of the toaster to SDI and overlay a second DSK, which in our case is live text messages being sent in by users using their cell phones.

We decided to keep all our audio outside toaster (except for the DRR's) as we needed 32 audio channels for our productions.


Keith

Keith Goodyer
11-04-2005, 05:00 AM
Our Toaster Channels are set up as follows.
1 Camera 1 (Component 1)
2 Camera 2 (Component 2)
3 Camera 3 (Component 3)
4 Camera 4 (Component 4)
5 Camera 5 (Component 5)
6 Camera 6 (Component 6)
7 Second VT (Component 7)
8 VTR (Betacam) (Component 8)
9 VTR (DVCam) (DV Input)
10 DDR1
11 DDR2
12 DDR3
13 CG Player
14 Noise
15 Background
16 Black
17 Black
18 Black

PIZAZZ
11-04-2005, 09:29 AM
Keith, as a fellow hacker and tinkerer of VT hard/software.... I have to commend you on an excellent job!!!

We have tried a few different ways of doing this ourselves but with no success.

Good to see your success.

Please email me at jef at pizazzme.com to discuss a couple of items offline.


Cheers!

Paul Lara
11-06-2005, 10:19 AM
This is OUTSTANDING!!

PIZAZZ
11-07-2005, 06:40 PM
http://www.globalstreams.com/graphics/products/hard_surface_control_header.jpg



:)

JReble
11-08-2005, 06:17 AM
OMG.....please tell me that smiley at the end meant you were joking. God help anyone who tried that! :foreheads I'd sooner use an abacus.

SCS
11-08-2005, 07:28 AM
Make sure you are sitting down when you check the price :D

I'll stick with my GVG110.

Jim Capillo
11-08-2005, 07:44 AM
Yeah, it's $10k (as in ten THOUSAND dollars )

It's cheesily constructed and the fade bar doesn't work smoothly.

I guess PT Barnum was right - there are fools born every minute. :thumbsdow

PIZAZZ
11-08-2005, 08:09 AM
Yes yes yes, I was joking somewhat. Hince the :)


but really I would bet there are some people out there using VT systems now and have invested into one of those controllers. At least they would be able to use something they already own. I imagine that having the capability of using that specific surface might even help sway them over from the dark side of the force.

Jim Capillo
11-08-2005, 09:14 AM
C'mon Keith, give us that GVG interface !!!!! :thumbsup:

mbloor
11-08-2005, 12:13 PM
Count me in too !
Regarding the globecaster I guess it means you could recycle some of it!Even if it is cheap and cheesy :I_Love_Ne
Mark

JReble
11-08-2005, 12:31 PM
I'd be real surprised if there's anyone out there using VT today that had invested in that GS monstrosity of a switcher controller. That didn't actually hit the street until VT was pretty far along and even when it did, I think they sold 4. :foreheads I could be wrong. Newtek would still be in their right minds to provide a hard surface encoder interface for sale. Something that worked on a standardized control format or had screw terminals for switcher contacts and such. Of course, that should take a back seat to the 3 input VT4 break out box that I'm still dying to buy from them. :cursin:

Jim Capillo
11-08-2005, 01:43 PM
I'd be real surprised if there's anyone out there using VT today that had invested in that GS monstrosity of a switcher controller. That didn't actually hit the street until VT was pretty far along and even when it did, I think they sold 4.

Going by the postings on their site, most of their "customers" are not in this country. :goodluck: :deal:

chribba
11-08-2005, 03:12 PM
I would like to have this one working with VT.

thanks
chribba

Keith Goodyer
11-08-2005, 07:38 PM
OK, OK, OK I get the message - As we understand it the GVG is just a subset of the PDG-418 protocol (or rather the PDG-418 was a superset of the GVG with a few minor changes - Like a numeric keypad). Additionaly the GVG desk requires power to be fed to it via the 15 pin connector - I will publish details for this when we have the software working on the GVG.

Its lucky I have a GVG110 in my 'to sell on e-bay pile'.

Is it time to design a 24 channel cost effective control surface for toaster? I gave up my job in electronics design for one in broadcast - what am i doing?

Keith :cool:

PIZAZZ
11-08-2005, 07:48 PM
We are all patiently waiting..... :)

JReble
11-09-2005, 06:51 AM
Any chance you can make that work on something that's still in production like a Videotek Prodigy analog switcher. I'm looking to get a small analog hardware switcher to include in our control room and it would be great if I could get one that could switch between controlling the rack unit and VT control.

Keith Goodyer
11-09-2005, 07:22 AM
I wont sware to it, but I think our PDG-418 will work with prodegy streight away - the prodegy is a cust down version of the PDG-418.

Anybody able to test it.

Keith

Mediaworx
11-10-2005, 07:38 AM
You guys have way to much time on your hands

nevmoor
11-10-2005, 11:44 AM
I just happen to have a Prodigy sitting on the shelf here at the work place. I only have VT3 so would that be good enough to do a beta test for you??
I could hook it up possibly even today. Send me a PM and we can discuss it!!!

Jim Capillo
11-15-2005, 08:39 PM
Anything yet, Keith?

I've got a GVG 110 ready and rarin' to go to beta test for you !

SCS
11-16-2005, 04:48 AM
Same here.

Jim Capillo
11-19-2005, 01:49 PM
Keith, Keith ~ You in there ? :stumped:

SCS
11-29-2005, 06:09 AM
any news for us GVG folks?

JReble
11-29-2005, 02:43 PM
:bangwall: Is it time to assume this is another one of them false starts that's goin' nowhere again?

Jim Capillo
11-29-2005, 03:47 PM
:bangwall: Is it time to assume this is another one of them false starts that's goin' nowhere again?

I just PM'ed him, Jeff. Hopefully, he'll respond one way or the other.

At least it's not April 1st...... :twak:

PIZAZZ
11-30-2005, 08:05 AM
I seriously doubt creating a GVG plugin is his sole purpose in life right now. Due to the lack of people buying 3rd party VT products, most of us 3rd party developers have to still do things that pay the bills. Many times the products we develop are for ourselves first not others.


Patience guys, Patience.

bbeanan
11-30-2005, 08:37 AM
Jef is 100% right 3rd party sales are slim to none... unfortunatlly since the VT4 is a low cost solution most users do not want to pay for add-ons... heck my tally system was going to cost me like $300 in materials and 4 hours in labor to make and no one wanted to pay over $200 for it... just not worth losing $100 and 4 hours.

Tod Cole
12-13-2005, 09:26 PM
I just PM'ed him, Jeff. Hopefully, he'll respond one way or the other.

At least it's not April 1st...... :twak:


Well did you hear anything?

Jim Capillo
12-14-2005, 02:53 AM
Well did you hear anything?

Nope, not a peep. :grumpy:

We'll just have to wait and see if it's a false alarm......

SCS
12-29-2005, 09:01 AM
So, do I sell my GVG110 - or is there hope?

Jim Capillo
12-29-2005, 09:33 AM
So, do I sell my GVG110 - or is there hope?


I wouldn't..... Santa might still bring you a late present ! :santa:

mzafrany
12-31-2005, 12:29 PM
I wouldn't..... Santa might still bring you a late present ! :santa:


Jim, Anything you would like to share with the class? :question:

Jim Capillo
12-31-2005, 01:41 PM
Unfortunately, I don't hold any secrets 8/ :p

I haven't had any contact with Keith, so I don't know where the project stands any more than the rest of you.

Just hoping they're working on it......... :compbeati

Jim Capillo
02-07-2006, 06:51 AM
Well, I just PM'ed Keith again..... no response to the last email I sent him. The business homepage he lists on his profile is a 404 too.

Not good signs.

Anyone else capable enough to tackle this ? I'll lend a hand, but I'm not smart enough to do it on my own :o

mzafrany
02-17-2006, 01:46 AM
I found this with Keith info:

http://www.ukscreen.com/guest/kgoodyer

Jim Capillo
02-17-2006, 04:39 AM
I found this with Keith info:

http://www.ukscreen.com/guest/kgoodyer

Thanks ~ I emailed him again.... we'll see if he answers.

Tod Cole
02-17-2006, 03:38 PM
Thanks ~ I emailed him again.... we'll see if he answers.
You know this had the potential to shake up the Newtekworld.

Jim Capillo
02-17-2006, 04:02 PM
I did get a reply from Keith - he said he is very busy and he will visit here with us again shortly.

mbloor
02-17-2006, 04:06 PM
If there were more/documented serial command controls that interfaced directly with VT that would help allow the design of custom panels and interface exixting ones. Hint Hint:D

TRCC
04-23-2006, 10:57 AM
any update on this lately?

Jim Capillo
04-23-2006, 12:13 PM
any update on this lately?

Not that I know of, but you can email Keith and let him know there is more than one person interested in this......

Hollywood333
04-23-2006, 03:18 PM
Very exciting Keith!
I have a GV 100 audio panel - if you'd like to test with it, I'll ship it out to you.

Jim Capillo
04-23-2006, 05:08 PM
Very exciting Keith!
I have a GV 100 audio panel - if you'd like to test with it, I'll ship it out to you.

That was a while ago.....

nevmoor
04-24-2006, 08:33 AM
Check out youngmonkey.ca
I was just looking around on there site. Apparently they are also working on serial control of the VT.

Jim Capillo
04-24-2006, 08:54 AM
Check out youngmonkey.ca
I was just looking around on there site. Apparently they are also working on serial control of the VT.

You talking about the MIDI-VT interface? Don't think it will work with the GVG switcher ~ that's serial, not MIDI.

chribba
04-24-2006, 09:48 AM
You talking about the MIDI-VT interface? Don't think it will work with the GVG switcher ~ that's serial, not MIDI.


You have to check again....http://www.youngmonkey.ca/hands/Software/index.html

Serial-VT: provides real-time Serial control of the VT and TriCaster. Comming Soon...


chribba

Jim Capillo
04-24-2006, 09:54 AM
You have to check again....http://www.youngmonkey.ca/hands/Software/index.html

Serial-VT: provides real-time Serial control of the VT and TriCaster. Comming Soon...


chribba

Ahhhh... OK, didn't see it ! Would be nice if it has a GVG protocol interface !

deaddavey
03-02-2008, 09:47 PM
what desks can i use with this now?

deaddavey
03-02-2008, 09:53 PM
what desks can i use with this now?

johnsoncz3
08-29-2008, 08:59 PM
Can anyone confirm the 3rd party plugin VT-MIDI is what I would need to use the desk from the VideoTek PDG-418 with a VT5? I see lots of talk about this desk/panel and am looking for the software/interface to make it work.

Thanks!!

Blairness
09-10-2008, 10:05 AM
What's the latest on this (checked that youngmonkey link and there is no mention of Serial-VT now)? There is currently a GVG 110CV for sale on my local online auction site. So if there is some software out there that can interface the two, I will seriously look at purchasing the 110CV.

kazuni
09-08-2010, 11:00 PM
What's the latest on this (checked that youngmonkey link and there is no mention of Serial-VT now)? There is currently a GVG 110CV for sale on my local online auction site. So if there is some software out there that can interface the two, I will seriously look at purchasing the 110CV.

Hey people! Has anyone had any luck with videotek control panel? I picked up a Videotek PDG-418 a while ago for $30 in an excellent condition and I am stuck with it. I can't find info on how to port it to VT. I tried to contacted Keith, found him, promises made, and never heard from him again :), he is a very busy man indeed. I have contacted most of the good VT gurus on here. If anyone is successfully using a Videotek PDG-418please help. All I need is the code/script/plugin or data whatever, I will do the rest myself.

sarahstaar
09-14-2010, 10:20 AM
i would be interested in the GVG 110 as a plugin.

Jim Capillo
09-16-2010, 09:30 AM
i would be interested in the GVG 110 as a plugin.

I still have my GVG 110 - sitting in the corner collecting dust, lol !