PDA

View Full Version : Battlefield 2 Compatability



AverageJoe
10-30-2005, 09:51 PM
Hello, me again. I'm working on a Battlefield 2 Modification and I need to create new models for it. Unfourtunetly the new engine is geared especially for 3D Studio Max.

I was just wondering if you know of any Battlefield 2 export plugins or anything that creates a compatability for Lightwave.

Any help is appreciated.
-Joe

ACLOBO
10-30-2005, 11:22 PM
why not build the models in lightwave, export to max - a little clean-up and then export out to BF2? Great game by the way.

-Adrian

AverageJoe
10-30-2005, 11:44 PM
I guess I didn't state that I don't have 3D Max.

After some research it appears that the engine is actualy geared for Maya but I see .md5 files all over the place.

Way too confusing.

Tima
10-31-2005, 09:45 AM
BF2 is based on doom3 engine ?
there are an exporter for LW to export in md5 files

http://www.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=4595

AverageJoe
10-31-2005, 02:42 PM
My bad, I guess I was looking in the Doom3 folder instead of the BF2 folder...late night editing. Go figure.

Looking over things again this is what I see:

*.staticMesh (standard object)
*.bundledMesh (standard object with attachments?)
*.animatedMesh (Animated object)
*.skinnedMesh (this is weird...they use these for the soldier models)
*complied.dat (splines)

this is all that I've come accross so far.