PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia 7800 now available as bto.....

jat
10-26-2005, 04:06 PM
snap it up folks!!!!!!!

Weepul
10-27-2005, 02:50 AM
+$350 option...not bad! I'd read speculation it'd be more like +$450 to $500.

Now for it to become available in the education store. ;)

HenkDawson
10-27-2005, 09:11 AM
What's the benifit of having this card over the GeForce 6600? Without open GL 2.0 on OSX is there a difference?

Weepul
10-27-2005, 10:55 AM
I'm hardly an expert when it comes to graphics performance, but my guess would be no, you won't see much of an improvement in LW with this card, currently.

If OS X gains full OGL 2.0 support sometime before the next PowerMac revision, or due to the re-written code in LightWave 9, it's possible it would make a difference for LW in the future.

Also, if a person uses their LightWave computer as their main computer, it would give a benefit to other things (for example...playing Halo... ;))

marlo.steed
10-27-2005, 04:21 PM
I am not an expert on this either but if you look at the specs for the 7800, there seems to be a significant difference. See the Graphics Card Specifications on the link below:
http://www.apple.com/ca/powermac/graphics.html
Although I must say this could all be just a bunch of numbers to impress.
Does anyone have a technical perspective on what the numbers mean. For instance, 225 million vertices per second versus 700? .. or memory bandwidth, fillrate, or interface? I would assume the differences translate into faster OpenGL rendering but perhaps that is not the case. Can anyone clarify?

Captain Obvious
10-28-2005, 03:41 AM
The 6600 has full support for OpenGL 2.0, as far as I know. Whether or not OGL2.0 exists for Mac OS X will have no real impact on the performance difference between the 6600 and the 7800. The 7800 is a lot faster, plain and simple. However, you won't notice that in Lightwave, but that's a different matter altogether.

HenkDawson
10-28-2005, 08:08 AM