PDA

View Full Version : Post results of 3rd Party plugins with 64bit LW

gjjackson
10-22-2005, 07:52 PM
Since I have had some issues with 3rd party plugins not working in 64bit mode I decided to put up this thread for everyone to list what IS working and what is NOT working. I'm just getting started so I haven't found out much. When not working LW tells us that 'Cannot load external plugin'.

Fprime doesn't seem to load in 64 bit.
Eki's PlugPak/ ModPak is working.
BodyPaint plugin is Not working, v2. The download for 2.5 is the same file.
HD_Instance is Not working (Already got a reply from them. It will take some time he says. Very quick response from him.)
TB_ShaderMan and TB_ShaderTree do Not load
C4 Detonate.p does Not load ; C4 Destruct.lsc loads (Could it be .p doesn't work, but .lsc does work - probably because .p are 'Compiled.)
Maestro 2 is Working.
Amelie 1.4 does Not load.

gjjackson
10-22-2005, 10:32 PM
I'll be just editing my original post to reflect what I've found. Editing doesn't report as a new post, if those of you, as myself, check back only on new posts. It's getting to look like any compiled plugins Will NOT work.

Karmacop
10-22-2005, 11:48 PM
Yes, unless a plugin has been compiled for LW64 (I don't think any have so far) then they wont work. The only "plugins" that will work are native Lightwave ones and lscripts.

gjjackson
10-23-2005, 12:14 AM
I must be in a dead zone. It just occured to me earlier that the SDK is no doubt different from 32bit with different dependancy files and such.

Karmacop
10-23-2005, 12:47 AM
Don't worry, I think everyone will be confused. I know I'm still a bit lost, that's why I'm not getting a 64 bit machine yet ;)

I think the difference between win32 and win64 is essentially the same as the difference between win32 and mac. Of course it'll be easier to port between win32 and win64 because they are the same OS :)

RedBull
10-23-2005, 04:38 PM
Lscripts will work like Eki's plugpak, but no plugins will really work.