PDA

View Full Version : Zbrush 32bit tiffs



kfinla
10-20-2005, 05:31 PM
does, or Will LW be able to make use of the 32-bit tiffs Zbrush is now able to export.

I know LW9 will have some sorta micropoly displacement hack, but will LW9, or 8.5 be able to use the full 32 bits of data?

Dodgy
10-20-2005, 06:05 PM
You can download a 32 bit tiff importer from here:

http://lynx.aspect-design.de/plugins/tiff16bps.htm

I've used it myself:

kfinla
10-20-2005, 07:06 PM
yes i have, and have used the normal displacement plugin Lynx wrote, but i was under the impression it was for 16-bit grayscale.

Its for Float images too?

I also question if you'd need micropoly displacement to use all the data in a float map.

Anyways thats great in LW will recognize the 32 bit maps with this 3rd party plugin.

I personally think its funny that LW doesnt natively do this, or NT didnt obsorb this superior normal displacer to theirs (NT's).

RedBull
10-20-2005, 10:32 PM
Has anyone tested Lynx's plugin, well?

I did a bunch of tests, with 8bit standard and then 16bit images with the plugin, and did not notice any difference with LW's detail on SubD's.....

The 8 and 16 were identical....
Which still makes me wonder, if it's loading the 16bit file, and using only 8bits
anyway?

Anyone?

I'd like to be wrong....