PDA

View Full Version : animating a spool of film unraveling

mightpeebler
10-18-2005, 09:26 AM
I am more familiar with modeler. This year or animater left, and I have become responsible for that task too. I am working on a project where I am trying to make a roll of film unravel and stream out of a person's mouth. So far I have tried to modify the parchment tutorial on the newtek page to work like film. However, this has been rather problematic. I have to keep rotating the spool as it unravels to resemble film. Then the spool is still unraveling too loosely. I need it to stay tighter. Then there is the problem of making the film flow through a guide (representative of the mouth). Here I tried to use cloth dynamics to save time, but I am still a kind of a beginner so I am having a hard time getting this to work. Right now it seems like I'm going to animate each bone in the film. But it seems like lightwave 8 should have an easier solution for my problem. Does anyone have any suggestions? Is there some way to do this with dynamics, or is there some type of IK chain I could set up?

Dirk
10-18-2005, 10:54 AM
Is it possible to fake the spool? I mean, if the spool is nothing but a cylinder that's scaled down over time, it might be easier (the reel should only rotate, of course).

For the film: maybe You can animate a texture (with alpha channel) along the film?

ACLOBO
10-18-2005, 11:18 AM
I think there might be an easier solution. You just have to think aboutit in a weird way.

Consider a morph target. Create a plane that has many, many segments. stretch it out to the total length of film you will need to spew.

Shrink it down to almost noithing using the stretch tool. Make this the base, and the stretched version the morph.

As you animate the Morph in layout. see if you can add a dsiplacement texture (maybe ripple or wave?). THis should make a stream of film that ripples.