PDA

View Full Version : animating through a pipe

fab
05-06-2003, 06:22 AM
i have created a metal pipe, with a piece of copper wire running through the middle and have to animate the camera going through this pipe, following the copper wire. i cant seem to light the inside of the pipe very well (or even make the wire and the pipe look like metals...) does anyone have some advice? thanks, fab

mattclary
05-06-2003, 06:25 AM
Parent a light to your camera.

fab
05-06-2003, 06:30 AM
i did that already, but it doesnt seem to light up enough. i have tried using a spot light and an area light, but i am new to the lighting game so am not really sure what is best. once the camera is completely inside the pipe the light gets really dull and the colors become flat. do you think it could be my camera set up also? cheers

mattclary
05-06-2003, 06:37 AM
I wouldn't use an area light, if you use a spot light, I would crank up the cone angle so it was really wide. I think I would try a point light. Have you tried increasing the light output? Sounds like it may be low. By default, lights start with a 50% intensity, go ahead and try 100%.

fab
05-06-2003, 07:57 AM
thanks, that light's better. was wondering if you could help me with my camera? sorry. i have included 2 pics. one shows the camera view, and the other shows where the camera is in relation to the pipe. how do i get the camera to not be so zoomed. i changed the zoom to 5.9 and the ap height is set to 1.0512 currently. if i make the zoom less i can no longer see the pipe, only the copper, it is weird.

fab
05-06-2003, 08:00 AM
here are the pics

fab
05-06-2003, 08:01 AM
pipe

fab
05-06-2003, 08:05 AM
camera

mattclary
05-06-2003, 08:11 AM
If the pipe disappears, lower your grid size. The disappearance should only affect your Open GL view, not the actual render, FYI.

fab
05-06-2003, 08:26 AM