PDA

View Full Version : All things being equal, PC or MAC ???

dagdal1967
10-13-2005, 02:17 PM
FIRST OF ALL... I don't want this to be the standard flame war of MAC vs. PC.

What I DO want is to be enlightened on the pro's and con's of Mac vs. PC for lightwave users.

I've always had PC's but am faced with the situation of buying a new computer specifically to run lightwave (NO OTHER PURPOSE), and I'm having the following dilema...

1. I'm a hobbiest that has no comercial factors driving him.
2. I am equally at home with MAC (especially now that OSX is linux based) and PC interfaces and UI's
3. My budget is fairly open ... I am very lucky that my day job is fairly lucrative and I can afford the higher end of either platform.

All things being equal.. What are the pro's and con's of running Lightwave on MAC and/or PC.

Your experiences only please.. Don't guess. And again... NO FLAME WARS!!

paulrus
10-13-2005, 02:31 PM
I use both so I guess I'm qualified.

If you are looking simply at LW performance on each, then the PC is going to win - especially on 8.5. The Mac version is not 64 bit and does not support OpenGL 2.0. Additionally there are a lot of plugins (mostly free ones) that aren't available for the Mac.

If money wasn't a factor and I wanted a LW only workstation, I'd probably go with a dual core AMD machine.

HTH

Paul

gschrick
10-13-2005, 03:49 PM
I use both as well and I have to agree with paulrus. I have LW running on dual AMD BOXX and a dual G5 and I prefer working on the BOXX. For me it seems that LW is a bit more stable on the PC.

But then again if you want to take advantage of 64bit and install WinXP x64 you'll find that a lot of devices are still not supported. My scanner was no longer compatible. Just something to think about.

hrgiger
10-13-2005, 03:52 PM
Trying to be as un-political as possible about this, here is my stance.