PDA

View Full Version : spider web



monfoodoo
10-12-2005, 11:13 AM
What is the best way to do a Spider web thats pretty close to the camera? scott

Elmar Moelzer
10-12-2005, 11:56 AM
Hey!
Thinking about it real quickly:
1. Create polygons to make the outlines of the webbing.
2. Make a bevel on all of them with an inset only (inset would be half the strength of the web).
3. After the bevel, dont deselect the polys but delete them, leaving only the polys that were created by the bevel.
4. Extrude everything with the thickness of the web.
Since you now have all quads you should even be able to Subpatch it now.
Hope that helps.
For shots that are further away you might get away with step one and the Render Outlines option in Surface Editor.
CU
Elmar

gjjackson
10-12-2005, 12:05 PM
Here's another idea.
http://www.digitalproducer.com/pages/creating_a_spider_web_with_light.htm

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=7465&highlight=Spider+web

monfoodoo
10-12-2005, 09:10 PM
hey thanks alot,all these give me some ideas. scott

monfoodoo
10-12-2005, 10:46 PM
Looked in my million saved plugins file when i remembered "Truss 2".worked pretty good.this is a fast web setup just to check it out.
the strand dia in truss is set at 0.003,4 sided. the web length is 700mm.
TRUSS!2 is over at Flay.com