PDA

View Full Version : Can a single person make use of Lightwave?

amatuer42
09-17-2005, 05:35 PM
I wanting to know if this will be too much software for the tasks that I am charged with.

I've been using computers since the age of 10 (timex sinclair 2kb ram). Even though I am part of a company we are very small and very young. It is my mission at this point to choose and then learn to use a software package that will allow us to create realistic reinactments and demonstrations to be played in courtrooms for a jury. I have some experience doing simple video editing with Final Cut Pro on the Mac. I will most likely be the only person working to create what is needed by our customers.

I need to know how many hours a typical animation ,of much less detail than most that I have seen created with LightWave, might take to create for an experienced user. I wish I had something I could link to as an example but I do not. I'm just concerned that anything less than a team, could not create the necessary product in a timely manner before the court case has already been decided.

Thanks for reading all of this. Oh, as for my skills, I have high mechanical and mathematical aptitude.

toby
09-17-2005, 06:08 PM
This is actually one of Lightwave's saving graces. It's one of the fastest 3D production tools you can get, and it's simple enough for one person to do most tasks. Maya isn't made for speed, it's made for maximum flexibility and power, which involves being more complicated than the single user can ever make use of; it's assumed that each field, animation, modeling, etc. will be performed by a different team member. I've heard several stories, and know one myself, about studios trying in vain to produce a show on a tv production deadline, only to fail, and be rescued by Lightwave.
The Capt. Scarlet series in the UK is an example.