PDA

View Full Version : Can I handle this Software

amatuer42
09-17-2005, 05:04 PM
I wanting to know if this will be too much software for the tasks that I am charged with.

I've been using computers since the age of 10 (timex sinclair 2kb ram). Even though I am part of a company we are very small and very young. It is my mission at this point to choose and then learn to use a software package that will allow us to create realistic reinactments and demonstrations to be played in courtrooms for a jury. I have some experience doing simple video editing with Final Cut Pro on the Mac. I will most likely be the only person working to create what is needed by our customers.

I need to know how many hours a typical animation ,of much less detail than most that I have seen created with LightWave, might take to create for an experienced user. I wish I had something I could link to as an example but I do not. I'm just concerned that anything less than a team, could not create the necessary product in a timely manner before the court case has already been decided.

Thanks for reading all of this. Oh, as for my skills, I have high mechanical and mathematical aptitude.

stevecullum
09-17-2005, 07:50 PM
mmm. How long an animation takes, could be like asking how long the piece of string is!

It very much depends on what you have to show, how long the animation is (30 secs or 10 mins?) and what resolution your final render will be at - which will have a big impact on how long you have to do the actual modelling/texturing/animating. Also everyone works slightly differently, so how long it takes me to do one thing might be quicker or slower depending on the route I took to get there.

In the past I have vastly under estimated the time it would take to finish a project, so now I guestimate (based on current skill level) and double the time, which normally gives me a bit of allowance for disaster - computer fails, power failure etc...