PDA

View Full Version : Animate a weightmap?



erikals
09-17-2005, 01:54 PM
Hi,

Not life or death exactly but I'm playing with some dynamics, and I'm wondering, is it possible to animate a weightmap? It'd be cool if animating several endomorphs with different weightmaps was possible.

Thanks for readin' :)

Dodgy
09-17-2005, 05:55 PM
You can't animate weight maps as far as i know. If you are using a T button, you could have multiple gradients driven by multiple maps, which you could then animate the dissolve one, but I think that's about it...

erikals
09-17-2005, 06:04 PM
Thanks,

another thing to add in "Feature request" I guess... :)
It would just be cool as it would make cloth FX settings much more flexible.
Well.. maybe in the future.

Erik

toby
09-17-2005, 06:16 PM
There is an 'Animation UV Cycler', I've never used it, but it looks like you can move the map around, but probably not distort it... ?

erikals
09-17-2005, 06:47 PM
Thanks, but I can't use it for this case. Btw, hope they make those UVs animatable per second soon, and not just per frame. Thanks though, maybe I can thing of another solution. :stumped:

prospector
09-17-2005, 08:34 PM
Dodgy.... is there someplace I can find out about that? Or could you explain what you mean?

Dodgy
09-17-2005, 09:12 PM
Well you know you can use a weight map to drive a gradient when that gradient is used in a texture on a mesh? You could use layered weightmap gradients, and fade one in while fading the other out using the Layer opacity envelope. Unfortunately Dynamics don't have the T button, they are just driven by straight weightmaps, so it won't work in this case. Maybe NT should add T buttons to them?

erikals
09-18-2005, 04:59 AM
Ok, put in "Feature request" now :)
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?p=299865#post299865

mkiii
09-18-2005, 07:05 AM
If you use the old multi object morph target mixing in layout instead of endomorphs, then each object can have its own weight map, so presumably, morphing between them, will also morph the weight maps along with the texture maps.... haven't tried it yet, but i don't see why it shouldn't work.

erikals
09-18-2005, 11:35 AM
Nope, It keeps the first weightmap only :)

prospector
09-18-2005, 04:46 PM
OK, I took it wrong.. :o
Thought you were talkin about layered weights