PDA

View Full Version : ScreamerNet with Mac and Windows together?



subw
09-17-2005, 08:18 AM
Hi!
I've got a Mac on which I work in a network consisting mainly of windows PCs.
Is it possible to use the Mac as well as the Windows computers to render?
It seems that there is no tutorial explaining this issue, only one for setting up SN in a network consisting of only Macs.

subw

Knight Chat X
09-18-2005, 12:14 AM
Maybe through Windows OS Emulation?

BeeVee
09-19-2005, 02:10 AM
Yes it is - you will want to access both Mac and PC tutorials for setting up Screamernet, but the reason that there isn't already a tutorial on the subject is that it's not a great idea to mix processor types on a render farm because the three supported by Screamernet - namely AMD, PowerPC and Intel - all have slightly different methods of generating random numbers meaning that your renders might look different from one to the other causing little twitches in animations. Of course, a lot of people have no trouble with that because they steer clear of things that use random numbers, such as procedural textures, Hypervoxels, Caustics and so on.

B

dreko
10-03-2005, 07:51 PM
I am using lightwave with screamernet so that I can render single frames.
I want to use my AMDs, Intels and PowerPCs.. I'm not too concerned about flickering/noise generated from differences in processor number generators. (I.E. animation issues with mixing processors)

So far I'm currently setting up the Screamernet with Split Renderer plugin.
I've had success with my 4 amd's...
however I haven't added the intel/macs yet to the farm

Just my 2 cents
Dre