PDA

View Full Version : subdividing sub patches???



neilp
09-13-2005, 09:22 AM
I hope someone can help me, or point me in the right direction please.
Below is a screen grab of a golf course model where I have set my land plane mesh at about 9m x 9m, I would like to introduce more geometry into the hightlighted polygons (below) so that I can add a small sand bunker. When I subdivide or knife the polys the mesh breaks up with round edges etc. I could easily re-do the whole plane with a tighter mesh but I worry of my poly budget. is there a way to introduce more geometry with modification tools or maybe patch / weld the bunker in as a seperate piece. I'm stuck right now!! :stumped:

Earl
09-13-2005, 09:36 AM
SmoothShift is your friend in this case. Select the polys to be the sand bunker, use SmoothShift on them (best to do a single click without dragging - this will add geometry with no offset), then use the stretch and move tools to lower the inset.

FIREGIRL
09-13-2005, 10:45 AM
I'm not sure if there are other methods that are faster but I like to use this one:

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/1310/step10up.jpg

http://img316.imageshack.us/img316/2520/step25cq.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/4521/step38ld.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/2051/step48od.jpg

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/3507/step53ck.jpg

Hope that helps and good luck!

-Rachel :thumbsup:

Surrealist.
09-13-2005, 01:47 PM
One thing that would make that a litte faster - more interactive anyway is the use of the control key, right clicking and the reduce selection hot key.

-Select Suppershift

-Hold ctl key/LMB drag to constrain to inset

-Right Click to create new geometry (same as unslecting and reselecting Supperhift)

-as geometry gets smaller, to reduce selection to the next row of polys use shift/[

Right click works on all of the tools like create box and even things like bevel and knife to create a new instance (activate) and thus geometry.

neilp
09-14-2005, 01:41 AM
thanks guys,
you really got me out of a pickle, I use 7.5 at the moment - so supershift, I think, is not an optiion. I utilised Earls technique.....it worked a treat.
I will keep supershift in mind when i upgrade.
Thanks Firegirl for your troubles and Surrealist...sounds like a hot tip for all.
:)

Surrealist.
09-14-2005, 04:04 AM
thanks guys,
you really got me out of a pickle, I use 7.5 at the moment - so supershift, I think, is not an optiion. I utilised Earls technique.....it worked a treat.
I will keep supershift in mind when i upgrade.
Thanks Firegirl for your troubles and Surrealist...sounds like a hot tip for all.
:)

Smooth shift I think is the version that comes with 7.5. Same idea except for the interactivity is different. Some people still prefer it I think based on the situation. Keyboard shortcut is shift f but not sure about 7.5 on that one.

...

Oh, yea, duh... that was earls origial idea. I think the right click still works the same on it though. :)