PDA

View Full Version : Help: Final Project

JadaFecT
09-13-2005, 07:42 AM
Hello all (hope this is the correct place to post)

I'm in my final year of university studying 3D animation / LW. This year I'll be making a short film instead of just test renders and playing about with editing, modelling and other programs and animation techniques. The issue I have is...

What short story should I do, I literally have no idea, for example: surreal? comedy? cartoon? action? thriller? and so on. I want to obviously get a job at the end of this year so this will essentially be my show reel with only a few other bits included. So does anyone have any ideas of what sort of story I could do? what techniques should I include to get the best coverage of my ability? i.e an entire story in cellshading? photorealism? special effects mixed with live action? I have no idea as I love just messing about with all forms at the moment. Also I'm really struggling on the actual structure of the story too as I'm getting worried about the techniques I should use as I really want to impress my 'future bosses' ;)

So if anyone has any ideas I'd love to hear them and also links to, maybe, final year projects or showreels would be very handy too.

I hope to hear from you all! ;) Thanks for your time.

Patrick / JadaFecT

ravantra
09-13-2005, 08:34 AM
Boy that's a difficult question to answer! A painter starring at a blank canvas....what should he paint? A sculpter touching a block of marble....what should he sculpt?

What is it you truly enjoy? Horror, comedy, drama, cartoons, old time movies?....... Do something YOU will enjoy. If your work is great it will be recognized.....forget about your future bosses.....they are well... in the POSSIBLE future. I the process of "creating" you may find out you hate it and go on to other endeavours. You may find out you enjoy only certain aspects.