PDA

View Full Version : Hypervoxels and HDR lighting

Radiance
09-12-2005, 07:11 AM
Hello all,

I'm rather new to LW8.3 (i'm from the ancient LW 5.6 era), and I'm exploring HDRI lighting. It all works quite nicely, but I'm having a problem with it:

I can't get hypervoxels to cast any shadows in a purely-HDRI lighted scene.
I've tried Image World and Textured Environment (Backdrop panel), and Radiosity is set to Backdrop only.
Is this normal?

I've switched on every imaginable shadow option, even though some make absolutely no sense (but hey, who knows, right?). And the manual just doesn't cover HDRI shadows - unbelievable that even with over a 1000 pages, LW still has so many uncovered features/tricks/shortcuts and what not.

However, I have noticed, that using Monte Carlo radiosity does produce shadows. But since Backdrop only renders so much faster, I would still like to know if I've missed something.

Can anyone shed some "light" on this, please?

Cheers,
William

erikals
10-04-2005, 07:51 PM
Interesting queation, you got it to work.
I've read some posts earlier about HV and shadow issues, so it might be that HDRI doesnt work with HV.

If interested I can do a simple test, but not now. Need sleep. :sleeping:

ACLOBO
10-05-2005, 02:57 AM
If I am understanding what you are saying and you are using backdrop only for your radiosity, then that is probably the problem. Backdrop only does render faster, but it is less accurate and only takes your Backdrop image into comsideration for lighting your poly scenes. Hypervoxels are a different story as they are not make of polygons, but are volumetric and procedurally generated (that is why you can get close to then and new details show up). Monte Carlo must be the only mode that can handle taking those voxels into account since they are not simple geometry.