PDA

View Full Version : Weights, funny grey areas.

peteb
09-08-2005, 02:03 PM
I'm totally new to animation and have been rigging a character, I'm doing weightmaps for the bones. Everything seemed fine except some areas didn't seem to get and influence from the bones and got left behind. At first I thought I'd either forgotten to assign a bone to a weight map or I'd missed some polys when assignining the weight maps. I couldn't find any problems with the above and realised that I hadn't set my object to subdiv last. So I done that and it seemed to work. My question really is that when I looked at the object in Layout with bone weight shade on it showed some weird grey areas that were exactly where I was having the problems. So what are these areas? I thought they might be where there's no weightmap applied, but looking at the weights in modeller they seem to be fine.
Also is it me or is Lightwave really bad at applying weights. I find it really rubbish that if you've got an area that has a certain percentage of weight on it. When you add a new weight it uses additive values so adds that % on top of what was already applied. Why can't they have it so if you enter -10% it gives that vertice a value of -10%?

Just editing to say Itried the bone twist mode to try and change the pitch on one of my bones. Done this and then bones went all dotted. Realised I needed to reactivate them but now none of the bones seems to effect the mesh in anway and I have no idea why.

Thanks in advance

Pete B

Dodgy
09-08-2005, 03:03 PM
You can use the info panel to edit weights on a value basis.
You might want to try using Vertex paint too, as it allows you to bend your bones and see what points are dragged along with it, as well as other features.