PDA

View Full Version : DV Capture Dropping Frames



Randy Rouse
09-07-2005, 05:57 AM
I have a problem with DV capture from an analog source. RTV capture is fine and the machine is very stable. Latest DirectX, Video Driver, etc. Running VT3 last patch. The machine specs are:

Supermicro P4DC6+
Dual Xeon 2.4
2 Gig Ram
WD System Drive
3Ware Escalade RAID 4 200 Gig Drives

No other software, No Nvidia Manager

I have even tried to capture to the single system drive with the same issue

This would be a great machine if I could solve this issuse

Any ideas?

TIA

SBowie
09-07-2005, 07:38 AM
If you are using the standard Microsoft DV codecs, this is no great surprise. (If memory serves, the inclusion of the Main Concept codec as part of the VT bundle did not occur until VT[4].)

Randy Rouse
09-07-2005, 08:15 AM
Are you sure Steve; I thought it was VT3 that first included the MainConcept DV Codec.

SBowie
09-07-2005, 08:18 AM
No, not positive (it's been awhile) - but you should be able to tell whether it is installed or not. The VT codec list in some versions masks the DV codec name, but you should be able to see the full list in other sw (such as the AVI config section of Aura.)

Randy Rouse
09-07-2005, 08:24 AM
When I click on the configure button beside the codec, it list it as MainConcept and give a few options to configure. This has really been a puzzle. Thanks for the help.

SBowie
09-07-2005, 08:42 AM
Well, I haven't actually been any Randy, but appreciate the courtesy. ;)