PDA

View Full Version : LW (r)evolution

Ross_DD
09-03-2005, 03:42 AM
(sorry for my very bad english language)

with total respect for every opinion, i don't understand entusiastic responses about LW9. Like the previous version 8, the NT concept is the same: give few important changes (features present in all other packages formerly...) and major changes in program-sections while don't need it...
in LW9 there will be edge-tools, N-gons, camera-lens;
all of this features are in all other 3D-programs from many time...
it's better late than never...
major improvements are about rendering engine:
why? the existent LW rendering-engine was not good?...
NT declares more speed improvements about rendering engine:
basically, speed is based on hardware capabilites, or not?
with my dual-G5 2 ghz 64bits with 4 GB RAM, S-ATA Raid and Radeon
9800 Pro 256 video-RAM, i got sufficient speed to realize my images
(i'm an illustrator) at every resolutions i need.
more fasten is better but is this a feature we need it?
Yes, of course, but maybe others program-areas needs some improvement...
another "hystorical" power features is texture-surfacing multilayering
system: NT deserves us node-system (...) for that functions...
LW got the best "native" rendering engine, it's the best for polygonal modeling, for surfacing some difficult materials like reflective surfaces and similar; N-gons and real edge-tool is very important features we are waiting for many times, but in modeler again there's not a construction-history function and again we need to placing some points before to drawing a line...
in modeler there's not a rendering preview function and there's not 3D texture-painting tools but this is a personal preference.
LW have loose the leadership of 3D-tool for illustration and print (majority of professional illustrators use C4D...) and Mac-version is very unstable from the version 8.x...