PDA

View Full Version : 100bt NIC in my new TriCaster?



timvincent
08-31-2005, 11:06 PM
I was sorely disappointed to discover a 100bt NIC while installing our new TriCaster. Kind of makes upgrading all the other components (PowerPoint computer and switch) to to Gig-E unnecessary. What is up with that? Is that why my iVGA input seems glitchy?
Tim

Cineman
09-01-2005, 08:04 AM
Tim,

Can you explain 100bt NIC in a bit more detail for a simple TV Production Specialist?

TIA, Nes Gurley

timvincent
09-01-2005, 08:31 AM
Nes,
The fact that this TriCaster only has a 100 baseT network card would seem to adversely affect iVGA performance from a computer source running soemthing like PowerPoint. I invested in upgrading our network to 1000 baseT with a new switch, etc only to find out that the TriCaster wouldn't be using this extra bandwidth. There may be other factors as to why the iVGA source is somewhat jittery, I hope someone can chime in here.

Paul Lara
09-01-2005, 09:42 AM
There may be other factors as to why the iVGA source is somewhat jittery...

Yes. iVGA makes extensive use of the client machine's graphics card. If it is a laptop with an OEM integrated graphics card, it may not be powerful enough to properly display animation. I have used multimedia-capable laptops and have smoothly sent full-screen LightWave animations via iVGA, Tim.

timvincent
09-01-2005, 09:51 AM
Paul, thanks for the reply. The client machine is a 2Ghz Dell with 1gig of RAM but I don't know offhand about the second graphics card other that it is a PCI card. Perhaps we need to look at upgrading that. Any suggestions?

Paul Lara
09-01-2005, 10:10 AM
any recent nVidia graphics card should be capable of handling that, Tim, such as the 5700 or better.

timvincent
09-01-2005, 10:39 AM
Thanks for the graphics card suggestion Paul, but back to the original question: Why does it only have a 100 baseT card in it? Is that all that is available?

jcupp
09-06-2005, 08:45 AM
The Shuttle computer that has gigbit ethernet has a slightly larger MB and therfore a slightly different case which has a plastic door over the 5.25" drive bay where NewTek puts the SX-3. So my guess is NewTek settled for the 100 BaseT so they could use the case without the fragile plastic doors. Either that or to meet their desired price point.

Paul Lara
09-06-2005, 05:37 PM
Is that all that is available?

Yes. That is all that is in TriCaster.

Media Guy
09-21-2005, 12:04 PM
Wow. I found this out about the 100mb card while trying to troubleshoot shoddy video. It's really surprising to me that NewTek would put out a video product that can't actually work with full-blown video. Hey guys, you really should put a note on the description that the Tricaster's VGA input works well for Powerpoint, but is not intended for high-resolution, full-motion video. That was one of the main reasons we (as a church) bought the Tricaster, and now I have to take up a camera input and use a work-around to get our video from the PC. Very disappointed in this aspect of the Tricaster, but it's switching capabilities makes it too valuable to return at this point.

...Any hope that this limitation will be rectified, NT Techs? ...Maybe a new compression for iVGA?