PDA

View Full Version : Overlaying partial texture...

starbase1
08-31-2005, 09:42 AM
This sounds seriously dumb, but I just realised I have never done it before...
:bangwall:

I have a nice spaceship, all panelled up with nice procedural textures, coming along very nicely. :rock:

Now I want to overlay an image map - so I can do things like put the ship name down the side, and add some fine detail, seuch as small labels and stuff.

It's roughly cylindrical, so making UV's should not be a problem, (or just applying as a cylindrical map I guess...).

But I just realised I have no idea of the best way to make a partly transparent image map layer that LW will accept! :screwy:

Can anyone point me the right way?
:question:

Dodgy
08-31-2005, 10:36 AM
If you add an alpha channel to the image and paint black in the areas you want to be transparent, when you apply that image as a layer, the ablack areas will be transparent and you'll be able to see your procedural textures beneath.

starbase1
08-31-2005, 10:48 AM
Thanks Dodgy - are you aware of any tutorials on the net covering this sort of alpha channel info?

Also what is the best image format for preserving this information - I use Photoshop Elements 2 for 2d graphics stuff.

Thanks, Nick

MonroePoteet
08-31-2005, 10:26 PM
In paint programs, it's regularly called a "mask" or a "selection" rather than an alpha channel. I use Corel's PhotoPaint rather than PhotoShop, but I think the concept and operation is similar. My understanding is that "mask" is the complement of a "selection": a "selection" includes the surrounded imagery, while a "mask" excludes it.