View Full Version : Render power

bjornnilsson
08-23-2005, 09:26 AM
Hi out there.

First of all, I don't want to start a war here,
I just need some advice.

I have been working in LW on mac for several years now, mostly with
illustrations, but the last 6 months
my clients has began to ask for more animations.

I feel it's time for me to buy another computer for rendering, or
maybe it's
a better idea to move my 3d work to a windows machine and use my G5
when I need the more rendering capacity?

I'll be glad to hear all your ideas about this! (I think, at least :) )

I hope you understand my swenglish!

Thanks
Björn

toby
08-23-2005, 06:09 PM
What machine do you have and how much animation do you plan on rendering? Will you be using radiosity? How many jobs to you typically work on at any one time?

Meshbuilder
08-24-2005, 04:45 AM
Hej Björn.

For "rendering" you should buy a cheap PC. You could buy 2-3 PC and set up a renderfarm for the price of a new PowerMac dual G5.

If you really want a new Mac, and who doesn´t :)
You should at least wait for Apple Expo the 20th September. IBM has multicore G5 processors in the pipline and if we are lucky Apple have manage to put them in some new Power Macs..

/ Pär

Darth Mole
08-24-2005, 05:57 AM
Please please please dual-core dual-processor G5s please please please...

etobiason
08-25-2005, 07:59 AM
I spoke to Joe Zeff about a similar issue, get the Mac or get the PC as a dedicated render station, and while he uses both platforms he suggested a new Mac for print renders. That's for print, because, even though it costs more, you tend to get larger renders out of it especially with FPrime.

For animation, I think it's better to go with the cheapest option.

But, I would also consider ease of use. If you're familiar with the Mac OS but not Windows, then that should be a consideration. You could end up spending more in upkeep for a PC if you don't know how to troubleshoot it yourself.