PDA

View Full Version : Problem changing the frame rate

darmstro
08-16-2005, 01:30 PM
I'm relatively new to LW. I'm on a Mac G5.

I have a 10 sec scene, set up at 30 fps (300 frames) that I am rendering out as a Quicktime file. It looks fine but the file is 62 megs and I want to try 24 fps to get a smaller file and see if it still looks ok. I changed the scene over to 24 fps in the preferences panel; changed the last frame to 240; and changed the frame rate in the Quicktime render options panel to 24. I got a smaller file that only has 240 frames but Quicktime will only play it at 30 fps. The entire scene is there and if it were played at 24 fps it would be 10 sec long but for some reason Quicktime is seeing it as 30 fps. Am I missing a setting somewhere in LW?

Surrealist.
08-16-2005, 01:59 PM
What type of quicktime format did you choose?

Does anyone know if this would make a difference? I am currious about this too.

darmstro
08-16-2005, 02:27 PM
Compression type is "Animation" saved as .mov file. Quality set at medium. Colors set at millions.

Surrealist.
08-16-2005, 02:46 PM
Compression type is "Animation" saved as .mov file. Quality set at medium. Colors set at millions.

See I am wondering if any of the other compressions settings allow for the quicktime player to recogognize the embeded frame rate.

I only know that some NLE editors have the ablitity to override it. Mine does.

I can have a project at 30 fps and import a video stream at any rate and it will play the porject at 30 fps, though in the properties of the QT media it still shows 24 FPS. I think My editor converts on the fly and keeps it the same time.

What's my point? It may be a limitation of the QT player in that you may need to use another compression that is more suited for multimedia and streaming, but I am shooting in the dark here.

I wonder if anyone knows?

In the mean time you can try others and see if you get a different result. Try Sorrensen 3 for example.

Mr. Black