PDA

View Full Version : OpenGL support emulated in Windows Vista - no OpenGL 2.0 support!

kevs3d
08-16-2005, 07:26 AM
Hi,

Not sure if you guys know about this but it sounds really bad for Lightwave:

http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/cgi_directory/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=12;t=000001

As we know, Newtek are implementing a lot of clever OpenGL preview features for the new version of Lightwave. Now i'm no expert but I'm betting you'll want full OpenGL acceleration and OpenGL2.0 API support for it! The current version of Lightwave OpenGL preview would probably be horribly crippled because of this. The idea of OpenGL being emulated under Vista sounds hideous!

This is something Newtek and other companies that use the OpenGL API under Windows desktop should petition Micro$oft over! :(

Thanks,

Kev
--
http://www.kevs3d.co.uk

mattclary
08-16-2005, 07:35 AM
This is kind of old news, been discussed here and at CGTalk, I believe. In a nutshell, it seems that new drivers from the video card manufacturers will correct any shortcoming. Other than that, I say stay on Win XP, it going to be around for a very long time. Microsoft's decisions on how long to support an OS (or app, for that matter), are often decided by how many (and how big) corporations demand it. There are MANY very large companies still using Win 98 and Win 2000. The corporate world is a lot slower to adopt new OSes, especially when the old OS is as good as XP or 2000. As long as XP has drivers available, it can be used if we need serious OpenGL suport, it does everything I need it to do.

kevs3d
08-16-2005, 07:52 AM
Applogies i didn't know it was old news. I agree with your comments, I'm perfectly happy to stay with XP, I was just disapointed to hear that M$ were out to destroy another perfectly good API just to give their latest shiny toy a fancy (and pointless) interface...

Cheers,

Kev
--
http://www.kevs3d.co.uk

mav3rick
08-16-2005, 09:50 AM