PDA

View Full Version : Pal not working....



Emile
08-13-2005, 05:47 AM
Anyone Pal installed? Toaster looks like NTSC now.
Very bad output...

Emile
08-13-2005, 05:48 AM
4.5 is not ok for PAL

eon5
08-13-2005, 06:37 AM
oh !

ntsc+pal version : when ?

Emile
08-13-2005, 06:40 AM
I use Pal, in Amsterdam, Holland.
4.5 is gives a bad output

3DBob
08-13-2005, 06:56 AM
Anyone else had this issue? - I'm holding off updating until I know

3DBob

Michael Englyst
08-13-2005, 07:38 AM
I don't seem to have any problems with PAL here on VT4.5.. Located in Denmark.

Emile
08-13-2005, 07:40 AM
Do you have a new card (VT4) or an old one (toaster 1)

Michael Englyst
08-13-2005, 08:05 AM
I have the new VT[4] card.

Emile
08-13-2005, 08:14 AM
I have tried with an old one, we also have new ones, try one later.
What is the name of your download file?

Michael Englyst
08-13-2005, 08:17 AM
VT4.5 filename for us (LW 8.3 included) is: VT4v45LW83eu.exe

3DBob
08-13-2005, 08:20 AM
I can confirm there is no problem here and I have had the toaster since [2]

3DBob

Harri Raisa
08-13-2005, 08:32 AM
Hi,

Old card and SX-8. (old card is the card that came with VT[2])
First launch - crash
First DV clip in TV-Edit playing 36sec - hang ( Update: it's locking VT if I power off DV deck)

DV input ok, no 2px shift anymore ( Update: It's rendering from timeline that's now OK, input from deck has been OK before)

Component input 2px bottom "busy bar" some sync problems to Beta material and then after playing tape from start (bars) there are bars under material.

Oh boy,

Harri

Harri Raisa
08-13-2005, 08:45 AM
New NewTek video codec [NT25] makes images brighter. See what it does to black level (PAL).

Harri

Harri Raisa
08-13-2005, 09:29 AM
This no real fix, but it works.

"My old post: Component input 2px bottom "busy bar" some sync problems to Beta material and then after palying tape from start (bars) there are bars under material."

1. Turn of VT and kill Winrtme.exe.
2. Then start VT and put the blank tape to BetaCam and play it.
3. Click switcher to right input (Cp1? or ...).

It takes black to bottom so we can't see it. If you play material first you got just that under all clips. If someone knows what this is I'd like to know too.

I hope this helps :thumbsup:

Harri

Cont...

OK. bottom bar is back. Btw. Toaster vision is clever in underscan it's not showing all. Turn your ext monitor underscan to see this thing.

Well, I can use black mask in VT-Edit or drop all clips 2px down :hey:

Harri

ACross
08-13-2005, 12:16 PM
New NewTek video codec [NT25] makes images brighter. See what it does to black level (PAL).

Harri

I took your iamges and overlaid one ontop of the other, and with the exception of the 100 IRE area and the super-black area the color values seem to be absolutely identical.

Email me some images if you are seeing any significant color change.

:newtek: Andrew Cross
across _at_ NewTek _dot_ Com

mbloor
08-13-2005, 01:48 PM
Hi Andrew....I agree that it does appear to be affecting the black...in fact it appears to "core out" about 2-3%. I know that the superblack will get cut off,but I cant see the remnants of the pluge above black black.
Also if you run toolshed on the peak levels of the file you seem to get interesting results I got 243 and 14 cf 234 and 8 for RTV and 234 and 12 for DV all from the same RTV bars sourced as a DDR
Mark

ACross
08-13-2005, 01:54 PM
Mark,

Sorry, I am slightly confused. Are you seeing this in DV or NT25 ?

Andrew

mbloor
08-13-2005, 02:21 PM
Sorry Andrew, to clarify
If you capture in DV the superblack is cut off as expected and normal, but the black remains as black i.e 0mV
If you capture the same source with the NT25 codec then there is a shift in the black level upwards by about 2-3 percent.On the waveform monitor the black level appears to be at 3-4% above black i.e halfway between pal black and NTSC black marking on the graticule.
If you take the NT25 file created by running the 100% bars in a DDR, then capturing prog out with the NT25 codec, into vt edit and run toolshed for levels, you will find black at around 14...as black is 16 I am at a loss as to why it looks sat up on the Waveform monitor.
Mark