PDA

View Full Version : Max user 'bout to get onboard the LW train

AbnRanger
08-11-2005, 11:47 PM
I'm a returning adult college student who has taken some classes in Digital Animation using 3ds Max. Last year I bought an educational version of Max w/bundle of plugins, and have alot to like about it...especially version 7 (that included Character Studio, and new paint deformation modeling tools...that I use alot since I have a graphics tablet). However, I've been considering doing some small scale freelance work, which means I'd have to fork over an additional $2400 just to go commercial. That's when I got wind of Lightwave's new promotion with Vue 5.
That blew me away, and I admit, it's just too **** tempting to pass up. Hat's off to Newtek. I'm hoping this new campaign plants a swift boot in the crotch of their competitors.

Having said that, I know very little about the features of LW as a whole, and hope someone will be kind enough to fill me in. The info I found on Newtek's website is very concise and mainly covers NEW additions.

1) Does it have Hair/Fur/Cloth tools like most other packages now have?

2) Also, does it have a feature like Maya's Artisan or Max's Paint deformation tools...which allow you to intuitively sculpt your models?

3) How does LW's :lwicon: Particle System stack up compared to the other major programs?

I really like Max's recent addition of Character Studio (drastic improvement over standard bones), and wonder how LW compares in that category.

Thanks in advance :thumbsup:

Verlon
08-12-2005, 12:54 AM
Hair and fur: Lightwave's hair and fur is Sasquatch but Worley labs (www.worley.com). Its a solid plugin, and well integrated. Lightwave comes with "saslite," a stripped down version that will give you a good starting point. For 'small scale freelance work,' it might well get the job done.