PDA

View Full Version : Interpreting Bone restParams();

Toji
08-09-2005, 02:00 PM
(Note: Some of this is copied from a post on another form (SplineCage.com). Forgive the cross-post, but it's been frustratingly hard to find the information I need)

I'm fairly new to working with the Lightwave SDK (version 8.0 if it matters), and have been working on an exporter for our artist to get models and animations into our game engine, which I have been programming along side the exporter. Thus far I've managed to get positional and UV data (both continous and discontinuous maps... THAT was a pain!) exported, along with generating my own normals, and have started on bone/animation exporting.

I'm running into a lot of problems when it comes to interperating the bone information that I am getting back from both boneInfo->restParam() and itemInfo->param() particularly, I am trying to get world positional coordinates for the skeleton in it's bind pose (restParam). querying the itemInfo of the bone for LWIP_W_POSITION returns a wonderfully complete and correct set of positions for the bones (in an animated pose, of course), but when attempting to use the same query on boneInfo->restParam I get nothing but garbage floating point numbers.

Through a lot of experimentation I've dicovered that the only querys that give back a valid result when using restParam are: LWIP_POSITION, LWIP_ROTATION, and LWIP_SCALING, even though the SDK seems to suggest that any query you can pass to itemInfo->param should work. In any case, I now have a lot of "relative" data, and very little idea as to how they relate to eachother. My exact problems are: