PDA

View Full Version : New lightwaver questions...

Gnoc
08-08-2005, 09:50 PM
I am very new to Lightwave and just a hobbyist for now but I was wondering...

1. Do good gaming cards like Nvidia's 6800 or 7800 pci express work well with rendering? Does SLI enhance rendering? I ask because I am more of a gamer and want to upgrade in that direction but would like to have the best of both worlds.

2. What about AMD opteron (dual core) chips.. just like having 2 processors I guess? Not a very smart question but is there a benefit to this?

3. What is a great tutorial program to buy that will cover the basics?

4. Will Lightwave 9.0 be 64bit for windows?

:help:

Gnoc

tjacobs
08-08-2005, 10:40 PM
Question 1: High-end gaming video cards helps with displaying the model/scene in LW, but did not add much for rendering speed. However, from what I read about LW9, that is going to change.

Question 2: Dual cores chips are better than the old single processor chips. But not as good as a true dual cpu setup. Of course a dual CPU dual core system would rock. Also, I would not over look dual Zeons systems -- what I use for my primary render box. Every once in while Tom's Hardware does CPU comparsions that includes LW tests.

Question 3: This one will cause a some flames. In my opinion, for getting started I would recommend the 'Inside Lightwave' books by Dan Alban. Then move into the Characters books by Timothy Albee or the Cartoon Character books by Jonny Gordon. If videos is a better way for you to learn, there are the videos by Dan Alban and Spline God (cannot remember his actually name right now). Both have different approaches to modeling. Both are good. Just pick the one that better fits your style.

I am sure that there are some that I am forgetting, and I am just mentioning the ones that I have.

As for question 4: I do not know.

Earl
08-08-2005, 11:38 PM
I am very new to Lightwave and just a hobbyist for now but I was wondering...