PDA

View Full Version : Update on Version 4.5



Paul Lara
08-08-2005, 06:38 PM
I just wanted to give everyone a heads-up that VT[4] version 4.5 has been held back while the engineers fix a bug that some of the European beta testers reported to us today. The bug has been verified and fixed, and we should have this 250MB download ready for you later this week.

Thank you for your patience.

thatmediaguy
08-08-2005, 07:00 PM
thanks for the update and thank the techs for killin' the bugs before we got 'em.

signed,
eager with anticipation

Whelkn
08-08-2005, 11:39 PM
I have never felt more like a nerd in my life then this past week. I can't believe that I can get that excited over a software update and I can't believe how dissapointed I get when its postponed---funny stuff---I hope girls aren't reading this---hahaha


Jeremy

eon5
08-09-2005, 06:36 AM
250MB download !?


HOLLY SH****T ! :thumbsup:








mmm... about version 5... any release date ? :p

Jim Capillo
08-09-2005, 06:57 AM
250MB download !?


HOLLY SH****T ! :thumbsup:








:p

Hope ya don't have dial-up !!! :compbeati

MBeck
08-09-2005, 08:02 AM
I have never felt more like a nerd in my life then this past week. I can't believe that I can get that excited over a software update and I can't believe how dissapointed I get when its postponed---funny stuff---I hope girls aren't reading this---hahaha


Jeremy

Lately my wife's favorite thing to say is "You are sutch a nerd!"

but its ok.. shes stuck with me now :p

mgrusin
08-09-2005, 10:18 AM
Hope ya don't have dial-up !!! :compbeati
Will work for broadband. :help:

-MG.

Terrence
08-09-2005, 04:05 PM
Paul if you need any more beta hit me up.

blakeb
08-09-2005, 05:00 PM
I find myself checking this every few hours... I'm on the edge of my seat waiting for this thing!

JReble
08-09-2005, 05:45 PM
For the love of God!! I can't wait anymore!!!

imagodei
08-09-2005, 06:06 PM
Now that's what I call disturbingly funny. It went just far enough to make even me slightly squirmy. (The eyeball coming out was a nice touch)...

Oh well, I'll begin another round of checking Newtek.com every hour in the morning...

Paul Lara
08-09-2005, 09:01 PM
Well, as I don't have a Gold Master yet, it will be the afternoon (at the earliest) so go ahead and pretend to be productive all morning long. ;)

cholo
08-09-2005, 11:36 PM
Hey Paul,

How about postponing that update a little longer AND have it come with LW 8.5 instead of 8.3? :)

inquisitive
08-10-2005, 02:23 AM
Hey Paul,

How about postponing that update a little longer AND have it come with LW 8.5 instead of 8.3? :)

shh dont pay attention to him.. but if you want release vt4.5 to us now, and when lw8.5 is ready then release that to him :)

Some of us do not have VT4 w/ LW8 (I have a stand alone LW8, so my VT bundle has 7.5) :cool:

cmcvideo
08-10-2005, 12:18 PM
Has anyone heard about today's update on the upgrade?

BrentYoung
08-10-2005, 01:43 PM
Paul, I was just looking at your posting times. When do you sleep?
Thanks for burning the midnight oil for all of us.

steveg
08-11-2005, 09:45 AM
Did I miss something? Did Paul upload the T4.5 yesterday and I just can't find it? Or, did Paul finally fall asleep after working long days and forgot to upload T4.5 for us? Where will the file be for us to find when it finally gets on the website? And, the million dollar question is when can we download it?

Whelkn
08-11-2005, 10:14 AM
My guess is it will be in the downloads section--with all the other downloads.

Jeremy

joelbialek
08-11-2005, 10:47 AM
hello all,

while i am eagerly waiting the 4.5 update, i have a quick question to satisfy my curiosity. the tricaster uses a dedicated DVI connector for its projector output. since none of the connectors on the sx-84 BOB are available, will the output go to the second output on the system video card? if so, what about those of us who use both system displays for live switching or editing? will it be possible to put in a second PCI video card for output? if that isn't the case, how does it work?

thanks in advance.

joel

deejay
08-11-2005, 11:12 AM
will it be possible to put in a second PCI video card for output? if that isn't the case, how does it work?

thanks in advance.

joel

The Tricaster is a single monitor setup so when 4.5 is out and you want to use the vga out feature you'll only be able to use one monitor with your VT.
At least that's what was explained to me.
As to using a second card I don't know.

PixelEyed
08-11-2005, 12:42 PM
Never was able to work with batch capture in VT4....very flaky.
Has any work been done on this in 4.5?
ed

steveg
08-11-2005, 01:07 PM
Hey Paul! Are you still with us? You seem suddenly silent. Did something go wrong with T4.5. If it has been delayed please tell us. It is ok. But, we would like to know what went wrong with having it ready. I'll be looking in in an hour or two. Thanks. 8~

Paul Lara
08-11-2005, 02:22 PM
Where will the file be for us to find when it finally gets on the website?

It will be available through the VT[4] downloads page, same as it ever was. ;)

When? Let's just say it'll be happy, happy weekend. :D

Scott Bates
08-11-2005, 02:42 PM
Might make my weekend happy, but not too sure how happy my wife is going to be.... :deal: ....everything has it's price.

Tod Cole
08-11-2005, 03:18 PM
It will be available through the VT[4] downloads page, same as it ever was. ;)

When? Let's just say it'll be happy, happy weekend. :D

Are you kidding you just made my day! Congrats to Newtek for getting 4.5 DONE! :thumbsup:

cyberhawk
08-11-2005, 05:37 PM
Let the Geek Orgy begin :bday: :bday: :bday:

Paul Lara
08-12-2005, 09:00 AM
Imagine the voice of an announcer (deep Pipes)...

"Please Stand By"

ltabel
08-12-2005, 10:11 AM
Now I'm checking the site every 15 minutes instead of every hour.

james_dmi
08-12-2005, 10:21 AM
Will it be a happy weekend for those of us in Europe too? I hope they get it up on the Europe page before they all go home in 10 mins....

cholo
08-12-2005, 11:25 AM
Downloading... 13 min to go... WOOHOO!

Ross-g
08-12-2005, 11:46 AM
Nothing on newtek europe website (big sigh)
very depressing when its the same software but we are locked out
from the party.
sticks out trembling lower lip as big salty tear runs down cheek. :thumbsdow

inquisitive
08-12-2005, 11:59 AM
downloading from where? maybe cholo is downloading something else? ehehe

inquisitive
08-12-2005, 12:01 PM
downloading from where? maybe cholo is downloading something else? ehehe

ah i see.. right in front of me.. downloading too

cholo
08-12-2005, 12:06 PM
All installed and ready... Looking good so far :) Nice new splash. Only complaint so far that I thought would be fixed in this release is the After Effects plug in... It inverts fields when working on a 720x480 composition. Not so on a 720x486 but when working with DV material it gets cumbersome to have to change my comps to 486 just to be able to monitor correctly and change back once ready to render. I'm working on a project right now that I started on SP1and took a gamble. Good news is it loaded up perfectly on 4.5. I gotta get back to work I'll report more later :)

Jacques
08-12-2005, 12:07 PM
To all VT[4] european users,

The version 4.5 update will be only available on NewTek Europe web site tomorrow (before 12:00 GMT).

NewTek Europe team would like to apoligize for this delay.

tvoge
08-12-2005, 12:24 PM
I was able to download in about 4 1/2 minutes. Just have to love the high-speed connection my company has (thanks to them for letting me borrow it!).

Thanks for putting together this package. I'm really looking forward to putting this in place when I return from my business trip.

VT[4] has been an awesome upgrade for our church (we were using Videonics MX-1 and Titlemaker 3000 - buy now on eBay! :D :I_Love_Ne ). I'm looking forward to getting into more Lightwave projects and start using more than the 5% of the system we are using now.

Great job!

Todd Voge
Trinity Radio and Video Services Inc.
Faribault, MN 55021

Ross-g
08-12-2005, 12:41 PM
:beerchug: I can wait another day, thanks jaques for letting us euro users know whats happening. :thumbsup:

inquisitive
08-12-2005, 01:01 PM
download page has this info:

This includes a new core update at the end of the install, and it is important that you power your computer off at the end of the upgrade!!!

However i didnt notice any prompt and/or message that said the core was going to be and/or was being upgraded. Is this perhaps something that needs to be initiated manually?

ScorpioProd
08-12-2005, 01:23 PM
I believe the core update is only needed on certain VT card versions, so I wouldn't worry about it.

Mine didn't do a core update, either.

Randall Chesbro
08-12-2005, 01:45 PM
I was woundering if 4.5 has the Trkicaster skins with it?

cholo
08-12-2005, 01:57 PM
I must say I'm impressed so far with 4.5. It feels a lot faster than SP1. Good job NewTek!

Paul Lara
08-12-2005, 02:25 PM
I'm thrilled to hear it!

Oh, Im posting a new thread with the iVGA link, Cholo.

eyehelm
08-13-2005, 12:54 PM
Reb, that has to be one of the funniest cartoons I've ever seen. I am still crying. As to newtek, I will down load sometime monday or tuesday. Please keep up the reporting thanks.

pnelson
08-13-2005, 01:24 PM
Randall,

TriCaster skins are only available with the TriCaster. ;->

Randall Chesbro
08-13-2005, 01:44 PM
Nelson, if the skin is not for vt4 is there anyway to get the multi camera monitor
like tricaster has.? I though i saw that it had three monitors for the diffrent channels?
thanks, randyc

pnelson
08-13-2005, 01:48 PM
This is one of the differences between TriCaster and VT[4]..

There is different hardware in the TriCaster.

Thanks,