PDA

View Full Version : Collada in v9?



Scott_Blinn
08-04-2005, 02:38 PM
Will v9 be supporting the collada file format (www.collada.org)? I understand some people are working on various importers and such, but I think it is very important for NewTek to embrace this format itself moving forward as an important feature for their game development customers.

--SB

Lamont
08-05-2005, 01:02 AM
Tell me about it. It would only make folks happy :)

jasonwestmas
08-25-2005, 05:54 PM
I see that newtek addressed better workflow with Zbrush2. That really impressed me. It would be nice if newtek addressed the game dev industry more.
This callada format would be a great start!

mkiii
09-22-2005, 06:42 PM
Yep. We are probably going to be moving away from proprietry formats to the Collada format for next gen development, and at the moment, that means Max, XSI & Maya.

However, I intend to stick doggedly to using LW to make game content, so c'm'on Newtek, I don't want to spend the rest of my career exporting LWO files via 3d Exploration.

jasonwestmas
09-22-2005, 07:16 PM
Yeah, I hate feeling pressured to invest in another animation package for game content when I totally enjoy lightwave.

flim
06-12-2006, 02:16 AM
I don't have LW yet, but without Collada export I can't work with my favorite game engine "C4 Engine". So if Newtek offically support Collada I will purchase LW 9 NOW.

Rayek
06-12-2006, 04:10 PM
Well, you could try installing Blender and use that as a converter. I haven't tried this myself, but it supports both .lwo and collada.

RedBull
06-13-2006, 01:51 AM
I don't think Blender will exchange animation data... :)

The problem with things like Collada is they come and go every 5 minutes...

.FBX was the same thing a few years back, Multiformat/platform animation, lighting and modeling data, which is unfortunately supported by Autodesk... Which means it was always going to screw with any non Autodesk program.

I think their is enough of a reason this time to make a Collada Import/Export.
However i can't help but feel if it were that popular, someone or some company would of already made a LW version of it.

Collada is a free open format, And so is LW..... So if there was such demand, i can't understand why a free or commercial plugin would not already exist. But stranger things have happened.

But i would say it's now gained enough popularity for at least Newtek to look at a serious implentation.... There are a multitude of programs, engines and 3D applications that have done so. It would be a benefit and allow more serious integration.

Defiance
06-14-2006, 10:17 PM
Side Effects' Houdini 8.1 now imports Collada. XSI I think can export it, Autodesk made the FBX SDKs support it. So it's getting support from the big programs. A lot of people in industry still haven't heard of it yet. But I say better Collada than FBX.

turbo
08-30-2006, 01:50 PM
We've recently announced the internal development of a new game engine at KrabbitSoft Studios (http://korner.krabbit.com/viewtopic.php?t=2126).
To more properly manage content integration for our next version of KWL we are using Collada.

I took it upon myself to email NewTek asking about the possibility of Collada support a few weeks ago.
Although I cc'd multiple recipients I was completely ignored.

Maybe it's time to make a little noise. :devil:

Our question is whether or not NewTek is working on providing Collada support via creating a Collada importer/exporter/plugin.

Multiple partners (https://collada.org/public_forum/) are already on the bandwagon.
Lightwave is the only big player currently missing.

Collada has been an open standard (http://www.gamespot.com/news/2005/07/29/news_6130037.html) since 2005. It's even got Sony backing it. It's used in both the PSP and PS3.

NewTek's own Lightwave users (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=334646) are wanting Collada support but not yet getting any answers.
A number of LW users are actively showing interest on the Collada forums (https://collada.org/public_forum/viewtopic.php?t=419&).
Loyal LW users (Game Developers) don't want to switch 3D applications.

The start of an LWCollada plugin last worked on in Nov. 2004 can be found here (http://www.nomuraz.com/lwcollada/).

Is there anything current in the works re: Collada at NewTek? http://shadow.krabbit.com/turbo/smilies/poke.gif
Or does NewTek not value it's game developers as much as LW's other users?
The game industry is outgrossing the entertainment industry (TV & Film) worldwide and continues to every year.


...

jbaudrand
09-07-2006, 04:58 AM
Still no aswer.....
:devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

GandB
09-07-2006, 08:04 AM
So what's it going to take for NewTek to get going with this?

jasonwestmas
09-07-2006, 08:23 AM
more game develpers who use lightwave need to speak up I would think.

jbaudrand
09-07-2006, 09:23 AM
it's not just for the game industry, I'm using a lot DAZStudio for character and they create a collada import/export for free....

The only way to import DAZ model to lightwave is the FBX i/e from DAZ and it cost 99$...
Or use Greenbriar tool (package cost 150$)....
If somebody test greenbriar tool here, I would really enjoy feedback!!!!

turbo
09-08-2006, 03:20 PM
more game develpers who use lightwave need to speak up I would think.
More than that, I think. ;)

</me visualizes a huge highly technical rant with supporting documentation much like the ati driver issue (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5887&highlight=Finally+answer+ati) (which ati denied responisibility for) that affected LW modelers for over 8 months some time ago>

... if only I had the time right now :devil: :boogiedow


...

turbo
09-19-2006, 12:46 PM
</me wonders if newtek reads the gamedev forum> ;)

1 - KrabbitSoft is ramping up and looking for artists to fill a number of positions
2 - We attended the AI Graduate Showcase last nite at the Art Institute in Van
3 - The students use Maya
4 - Maya supports Collada
5 - Maya has come waaay down in price

Hmmmm.... shouldn't be too much of a challenge to take our LW assets into Maya.. :D


...

Lamont
09-19-2006, 01:08 PM
Support for Collada is very simple actually, all the support LW needs to compete more in game content creation is simple. It's just that it seems to be low (very low) priority. Which is sad because I hate modeling in Maya/3DS Max.

In terms of game development, NT is behind by about 3 years... and it doesn't have to be this way.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now on the flip side. What have we/can we do to have a larger presence and say "WTF NT!??! Hook us up!!"? So I say post your art... post examples of what you want NT to support. Don't pull punches.

If it comes down to it, I'll drive to San Antone' and do burn-outs in the parking lot of the NT offices and spell out Collada.

turbo
09-19-2006, 01:56 PM
Awesome, Lamont!
Varmint says he'll pay for gas! :D

We've had our game added to the 'games done with lightwave' (http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/projects.php#game) section on the NewTek site.
We've announced we're writing a new engine and upgrading our product.
We've emailed multiple contacts at NewTek.

I'm guessing you have to be big to be heard. (sigh)

...gonna give Maya ple a look see...


...

Lamont
09-19-2006, 02:01 PM
If you need some Mels for Maya, let me know ;).

jasonwestmas
09-20-2006, 09:28 AM
Good Points! ^

turbo
09-20-2006, 12:02 PM
If you need some Mels for Maya, let me know ;).
Alright then! :D

Lamont, can you get your Lightwave assets into Maya? If so, how? (briefly)
Hook me up, please, with any scripts/plugins etc, or where to get them, and in all available platforms.
Let's get this show on the road. Our new artists will need to have our models to work with anyways. :)

varmint
09-20-2006, 01:44 PM
I kinda wonder if NewTek has been paying attention to the entertainment industry. For the past few years the gaming industry has outgrossed the film and tv industry. Companies are now merging gaming with film and TV. Seeing that NewTek is the only one that doesn't support gaming, I wonder if they are planning on closing up shop. I find it really hard to believe they are not aware of this as they are painting themselves into a corner. I strongly suggest someone at NewTek purchase the PWC Media & Entertainment (http://www.pwc.com/extweb/pwcpublications.nsf/docid/5AC172F2C9DED8F5852570210044EEA7?opendocument&vendor=none) reports and get up to speed. :thumbsup:

I'd (http://www.krabbit.net/rez02/derez02.html) be more than happy to work with :help: a NewTek developer on collada support, it's not rocket science just time consuming. I'd be very unhappy :grumpy: to write collada support all by myself, in that case I'd just write a minimum support to export our current assets out for Maya. Being a small game shop, we don't have time to do support for NewTek and seeing that all the schools now teach Maya, it's starting to look like LW will no longer be an option for us.

Oh well if they don't respond to this, then that really shows how much they value game developers using lightwave. <feels no NewTeck love> :cry:

sthomas
09-20-2006, 03:13 PM
We're not a game company, but we're dying for Collada support in Lightwave. For various reasons we've decided to use Collada going forward, but our artists love Lightwave and NewTek's lack of support for Collada is making things very difficult for us. For years we've recommended Lightwave to our customers as a tool to create models for our flagship product Satellite ToolKit (http://www.agi.com), and we'd hate to have to change that policy.

Please NewTek, get cracking on Lightwave support. Even if we just knew that support was being worked on, without any specific release dates set, that'd be a tremendous relief.

sthomas
09-20-2006, 03:19 PM
Also, in case you guys (NewTek) feel you just don't have the time or engineering resources to devote to Collada support (which is admittedly a pretty big undertaking), you might want to contact Feeling Software (http://www.feelingsoftware.com/content/view/16/30/) and see if you can contract them to do it. They're an independent company responsible for the Max and Maya Collada plugins.

Lamont
09-20-2006, 06:24 PM
I use OBJ and the MTL export (By Dodgey). Works fine for me, as I do it at work and it shows up in the game just fine. Talk about Lurking Varmint :D.

turbo
09-21-2006, 07:52 AM
linky?

Lamont
09-21-2006, 09:11 AM
Linky? ::CLICKY!!:: (http://dodgy.ghostoutpost.com/Files/MGMTLImpExp.zip)

varmint
09-21-2006, 12:11 PM
Thankie <continues to lurk> :rock: :cool:

turbo
09-21-2006, 12:17 PM
ditto! :D

Stooch
09-23-2006, 03:40 AM
I don't think Blender will exchange animation data... :)
However i can't help but feel if it were that popular, someone or some company would of already made a LW version of it.

Hair seems pretty popular, but i dont see people climbing out of the woodwork to make a plugin. and sas is a joke so it doesnt count.

Lamont
09-24-2006, 11:22 AM
I think it's because whatever DX stuff would be in there would HAVE to be PC only, would require a split in development and the Mac people would be even more pissed.

I'd rather see CG shaders than DirectX because it's cross platform.

Yacomo
09-26-2006, 05:39 AM
/sign

Exchanging assets between apps has always been troublesome. Since FBX seems to be more or less dead outside of the autodesk world, Collada sounds like the one logical choice for me.

turbo
10-04-2006, 02:17 PM
How does this look for a workaround?

- Purchase Maya (site license) rather than upgrade to LW9
- Purchase Polytrans
- Take existing LW models to Maya
- Have employees create and animate in Maya based on LW9 model templates
- Rig and animate in Maya
- Export from Maya to game engine using Collada

It's kind of sad to not get any response from NewTek and unfortunate they lose out on upgrades and site licenses..

I love my modeler though and will continue to model in LW but don't see any reason to upgrade being that gamedev is the only reason we have LW in the first place..

Lamont
10-04-2006, 02:34 PM
This is what I do:
- Model and texture in Lightwave
- Export OBJ with MTL
- Rig and animate in Maya

turbo
10-04-2006, 03:09 PM
hmmm... not getting it yet. Is there a native import .mtl option in Maya? (new version) only web ref we can find is v5

your pm box is full Lamont ;)

turbo
10-04-2006, 03:27 PM
@ Lamont

Please specify as versions make all the difference.

What version of LW are you using?
What version of the conv3d plugin are you using?
What version of Maya are you using?

thx